Harris named SDSU distinguished alumni

Harris named SDSU distinguished alumni The Department of Journalism and Mass Communication at South Dakota State University has named six distinguished alumni for 2004.

The alumni will be recognized during the department's annual scholarship banquet Tuesday, April 20 at the Brookings Inn, with social hour at 6:30 p.m. and dinner at 7 p.m. For tickets, call the journalism department at (605) 688-4171.

Among the 2004 distinguished alumni is Terry Harris, a 1977 SDSU journalism grad. He worked for KELO-TV for five years, covering such political figures as Ronald Reagan, Jack Kemp, Bob Dole and George H.W. Bush.

After earning his master's degree in journalism from SDSU in 1986, Harris taught for four years at Northwest Missouri State University in Maryville and nine years at the University of Sioux Falls (USF).

His love for public radio started at SDSU, working at KESD-FM as an undergrad. He was station manager while at USF and became radio director at South Dakota Public Broadcasting (SDPB) in Vermillion in 1999. In that time, the radio staff has won two national Edward R. Murrow Awards and the Unity Award from RTNDA, plus overall excellence honors from the South Dakota AP every year since he became director at SDPB Radio.

Harris and his wife Debra have three children: Emily, 17, Erin, 11, and Ben, 10.

Other honored alumni are Dennis Lungren, manager of the SDSU Printing Laboratory;

John Papendick, managing news-sports editor at the Aberdeen American News; Curt Wagner, a sales manager with The News Tribune in Tacoma, WA; Sue Salter, former manager and CEO of the Sioux Empire Fair Association and Brenda Kleinjan, director of communications/editor of the

Pierre-based South Dakota Rural Electric Association.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>