Yarbrough: ‘Composer’s dream come true’

Yarbrough: 'Composer's dream come true' Dr. Stephen Yarbrough, composer in residence at The University of South Dakota, has just been awarded at $10,000 commission to compose a new work for the National Symphony Orchestra Chamber Players of Washington, DC.

The award is an American Residency Composer Commission for the state of South Dakota, and was made by the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and the National Symphony Orchestra. The awards committee was comprised of NSO musicians Rudolph Vrbsky, Truman Harris, and conductor Emil de Cou, with final approval by music director Leonard Slatkin.

The completed work will be performed by the National Symphony Orchestra Chamber Players at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC.

"This is a composer's dream come true," said Dr. Yarbrough. "The opportunity to compose a piece for world-class musicians is an opportunity for professional growth like no other. It means the chance for my art to be performed and heard in a major world venue, and at the same time allows for the fullest expression of one's powers as a creative musician. It is a chance to grow professionally and establish one's reputation on the national stage. I am grateful beyond words to have been chosen for this award."

Dr. Yarbrough will fly to Washington to attend rehearsals and performances of his commissioned work. He will be hosted by the Kennedy Center and the National Symphony Orchestra.

Dr. Yarbrough also notes the upcoming premiere of his Prairie Triptych � Three Scenes of Harvey Dunn by the South Dakota Symphony Orchestra. Based on three of South Dakota artist Harvey Dunn's "prairie pictures," the work will be performed at the Washington Pavilion's Great Hall at 8 p.m. March 13.

Guest conductor Jung-Ho Pak will lead the Orchestra while slides of the Dunn paintings are shown in the background, courtesy of the South Dakota Art Museum, Lisa Scholten, Curator of Collections.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>