Clay RWS holds annual meeting

Clay RWS holds annual meeting A record crowd attended the Clay Rural Water Systems' 25th annual meeting held March 20 at the St. Agnes School Auditorium in Vermillion.

Over 120 members heard reports from officers and staff, who reviewed the systems' financial and operating statistics for 2003. Updates were given on several construction projects currently in the planning stages. Members also were given a recap of major system activities over the past 25 years. Two retiring directors, Leon Fenhaus of Wakonda and Darold Vanderham of Akron, IA, were recognized with Clay Rural Water System Achievement Awards for their years of service to the board of directors.

Terry Plucker of the South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems gave an update on statewide activities and security program assistance provided to member systems.

The results of the recent district elections were announced. One member of the board of directors was re-elected for a three year term while two new directors were elected. Bill Kennedy of Vermillion was newly elected in District I. Rick Peterson of Vermillion was re-elected in District II while Jim Ross of Elk Point was newly elected in District III.

Following the annual meeting the board re-organized and elected officers for the coming year. Glenn Nelson of Vermillion was elected president, Rick Peterson of Vermillion was elected vice-president and John Haver, Wakonda, secretary-treasurer.

Clay Rural Water is a member owned, non-profit water system that provides water service to 1,600 locations in Clay, Union and portions of Yankton, Turner and Lincoln counties.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>