Eleven new troopers serve and protect S.D.

Eleven new troopers serve and protect S.D. Public Safety Secretary Tom Dravland announced that the Highway Patrol Trooper graduation ceremony was held Friday, April 2 at 10 a.m. in the Capitol rotunda to honor 11 new troopers.

"These troopers have worked very hard," said Col. Dan Mosteller. "They have spent 21 weeks at the training academy in Pierre, and after graduation, they will report to their assigned duty stations. These troopers are eager to serve and protect the citizens of South Dakota."

The troopers' names and duty stations are: David Baker, Winner; Tyler Boltjes, Beresford; Jake Dowling, Rapid City; Kevin Kinney, Wall; David Knutson, Aberdeen; Isaac Kurtz, Sioux Falls; Tala Nelson, Huron; Kevin Owen, Flandreau; Steven Schade, Parkston; Caleb Walters, Armour; and Michael Welter, Presho.

On Jan. 15, the recruits were administered their oath of office by Supreme Court Chief Justice David Gilbertson. On Jan. 19, they started the field-training program. During the next 11 weeks, the recruits began working under the watchful eye of veteran troopers � their training officers. Throughout their field training, the recruits worked with a minimum of three different training officers at various locations across the state. Topics of instruction include: public relations, emergency vehicle operations, firearms, DUI enforcement, crash investigation and public speaking.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>