Vermillion musicians participate in contest

Vermillion musicians participate in contest Fifty-two Vermillion seventh-and eight-graders participated in the South Dakota Bandmaster Association regional solo/ensemble contest on Saturday, April 3. The contest was held at Canton Junior/Senior High School, and participating students came from Lennox, Irene, Viborg, Beresford, Vermillion and Canton. Over 200 solo/ensemble events were judged by four area music educators.

Division I (Superior) Ratings were earned by: DeNell Dykstra, Kelly Miskimins, flute duet; Ryan Husby, Jesse Kirkpatrick, Brad Nelson, Alex Anderson-Kahl, Luke Heine, brass quintet; Emily Renner, baritone solo; Dru Daniels, snare drum solo; Amanda Granaas, Katrina Salitros, clarinet duet; Amanda Granaas, clarinet solo; Raychel Lorenz, timpani solo; Marley Hammond, tuba solo; Taylor Clark, mallet solo; Justine Sorenson, trombone solo; Alicia Enterman, clarinet solo; Emily Holoch, clarinet solo; Richie Knutson, tenor sax solo; Michael Dendinger, multi-percussion solo; Dan Davies, multi-percussion solo; Angie An, flute solo; Jade Van Kley, flute solo; Jennifer Noiva, clarinet solo; Iyanna Amiotte, clarinet solo; Emily Holoch, Jennifer Noiva, clarinet duet; Erica Johnson, trumpet solo; Alicia Enterman, Kelly O'Dea, woodwind duet; Brianna Brinkmann, Katie Hanson, Erica Johnson, trumpet trio; Dan Davies, Taylor Clark, Michael Dendinger, Tony Thomas, percussion quartet; Iyanna Amiotte, Angie An, woodwind duet; DJ Donahoe, Sam McBride, brass duet; Chris Bellis, trumpet solo; Cassie Schaffer, alto sax solo; Cassis Schaffer, Dana Hannahs, woodwind duet; Shannon Jepsen, flute solo; Shannon Jepsen, Rebecca Girlinghouse, Kelsey Osborne, woodwind trio; Sara Hansen, Laura Jacobson, trumpet duet; Angie Christensen, Sara Kjose, sax duet; Crystal Robison, David Yarbrough, flute duet.

Division II (Excellent) Ratings were earned by: Bailey Gertsma, trumpet solo; Brad Nelson, Alex Anderson-Kahl, trombone duet; David Rosacker, Mason Eichelberg, percussion duet; Jade Van Kley, Emily Tracy, flute duet; Jayde Hein, trombone solo; Emily Tracy, flute solo; Erin Rasmussen, Raychel Lorenz, Maggie Green, Percussion trio, Garrett Jepsen, alto sax solo; Tia Krier, Justine Sorensen, brass duet.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>