VHS tracksters earn state qualifier status at DV Invite

VHS tracksters earn state qualifier status at DV Invite by Jim Prosser Last Saturday, April 3, a contingent of over eight girls teams and nine boys teams from a three-state region participated in the Dakota Valley Track Invitational.

Vermillion High School was represented by a complete roster in both the girls' and boys' divisions as Anne Carlson qualified for state in the triple jump, claiming first place with a jump covering 34'3.75". She also placed third in the long jump, and ran on the 4×100 relay teams.

Alicia Brown was second in the 100M dash and won a state qualifying time of 26.1 seconds in the 200M dash.

Other individual Tanager placers were: Annie Roach, fifth in the long jump and fourth in the triple jump; Nicki Nelson was sixth in the 100M; Morgan Brooks was fourth in 800M run; Emily Renner was fifth in the 1600M; and Katarina Gombocz won the 3200M timed in 12:42.9.

Four girls' relay teams placed in the meet: 4×800 relay team was sixth (Sarah Plate, Sasheen Thin Elk, Theresa Ring, and Sarah Rasmussen); first place was claimed by the 4×200 relay team (Nicki Nelson, Heather Heine, Annie Roche, and Alicia Brown); the foursome of Nelson, Heine, Carlson and Brown placed second in the 4×100; and the 1600M relay team placed fourth (Heine, Brittney Babb, Kinsey Weydert, and Brooks). The Tanager girls finished in fourth place with 84 points.

Elk Point-Jefferson and Sioux City West were first and second with 131 and 109 points respectively, with the Tanagers a close third with 102 in the boys' division. Placing tops in the field events for the Tanagers were Tyler Brown, first in high jump (6'1") which is a state qualifying height. Kellen Cusick won the shot put (49'), Donny Stewart and Jordan Anderson were third and fourth. Anderson was second in discus (128'10").

Running events had B.J. Campbell placing fifth in the 100M dash, and Ben Oberle winning the 200M dash with a time of 22 seconds (a state qualifying time). Chris Teigen was first in the 300M hurdles (43.1 sec.) and Chad Teigen won the 800M run (21 min.)

The 4×200 relay team of Campbell, Brown, Chris Teigen, and Oberle won with a time 1:36.8; the 4×800 relay team placed sixth (Craig Powell, Caleb Berry, Casey Carlson, and Mitch Beirle). The 4×400 placed first at 3:38.1 (Brown, Teigen, Teigen, and Oberle); the 4x100M team (Campbell, Cusick, Oberle, and Brown) was also first (45.4), and the medley relay team placed sixth (Highrock Fischer, Maxwell Swanson, Caleb Berry, and Mitch Bierle).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>