Young drivers must still obey current S.D. laws

Young drivers must still obey current S.D. laws Gov. Mike Rounds and the 2004 South Dakota Legislature passed two bills altering the hours young people can drive and with whom they can be accompanied by, but Public Safety Secretary Tom Dravland wants to remind all South Dakotans that these laws do not take effect until July 1.

"We want to remind all South Dakotans that holders of restricted minor's permits and instruction permits must still follow the current laws," Dravland said.

Beginning July 1, holders of a restricted minor's permit may operate a motor vehicle from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. if the motor vehicle is being operated with the permission of the holder's parent or guardian (SB 83). Prior to July 1, holders of restricted minor's permits can only drive alone from 6 a.m to 8 p.m.

Also beginning July 1 holders of an instruction permit may operate a motor vehicle from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. if accompanied in the passenger seat by a person holding a valid operators license, who is at least 18 years old and has had at least one year of driving experience. The applicant may drive from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. if the applicant's parent or guardian is in a seat beside the applicant.

Prior to July 1, holders of instruction permits are allowed to drive anytime when accompanied in the passenger seat by a person holding a valid operators license who is at least 18 years of age and had one year of driving experience.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>