Brozik, Koupal named USD scholar-athletes of the year

Brozik, Koupal named USD scholar-athletes of the year The University of South Dakota Athletic Department honored its student-athletes during the fourth-annual Student-Athlete Awards Banquet on Sunday. Paul Brozik (Winner) and Mandy Koupal (Wagner) received USD's highest athletic department honor for student-athletes when they were named the USD Male and Female Scholar-Athletes of the Year during the banquet.

Brozik and Koupal, who were selected by the USD Athletic Board of Control, were honored for academic and athletic achievements. Brozik and Koupal are USD's honor athlete nominees and will be nominated for the NCC's Stan Marshall Award, which recognizes the top male and female scholar athlete in the NCC and will be announced later this spring.

Brozik owns a 3.425 GPA in therapeutic recreation at USD and currently holds two school records, including the long jump (25'20''), a mark that was dated back to 1978, and the pentathlon (3,915 points).

Brozik is a three-time All-American and ranks first in the nation in the long jump with his record-setting leap at the Kansas Relays. A three-time team captain, Brozik became USD's second-ever 7-foot high jumper, going 7'0''.50. He also owns three conference meet titles and ranks fifth in the nation in 2004 with 6,550 points in the decathlon.

Koupal owns a 3.823 GPA in elementary education. This season, she averaged 24.2 points and 11.4 rebounds per game en route to earning a pair of Division II Player of the Year honors (State Farm/Women's basketball Coaches Association, Division II Bulletin). Koupal holds 18 school records and finished second in NCAA Division II in scoring and ninth in rebounding and is one of two players nationally to rank in the top 10 of both categories.

Koupal finished her career with 2,496 career points, which ranks sixth all-time in NCAA Division II history. She also set NCC records for points (1,352) and rebounds (606).

Scholar Athlete Recognition

As part of the Scholar Athlete recognition, USD also presented certificates to the scholar athlete recipients in each of the programs in USD intercollegiate athletics. The honorees included: Sarah Hoffman, women's outdoor track and field, Mitchell; Brianne Edwards, women's indoor track and field, Spearfish; Jill Stensby, women's swimming and diving, Portland, OR; Tyler Scheer, men's swimming and diving, Lincoln, NE; Lindsey Soukup, volleyball, Lincoln, NE; Keri Bolte, softball, Ralston, NE; Jarrod Edelen, football, Vermillion; Paul Brozik, men's track and field, Winner, John Quade, baseball, Sioux City, IA; Brenden Huber, men's cross country, Huron; Kent Peterson, men's golf, Salem; Mandy Koupal, women's basketball, Wagner; Derek Paben, men's basketball, Pickrell, NE; Ali Magel, women's soccer, Sioux City, IA.

Hoy Award

Alumni Director Nancy McCahren presented Carl B. "Rube" Hoy Awards to Brozik, Koupal and senior women's track and field athlete Brianne Edwards of Spearfish. The Hoy Award recognizes outstanding achievement by a male and female student athlete.

Edwards, a five-time All-American, has a 3.963 GPA as a psychology/pre-physician assistant major. She was a member of the record setting 4×100 meter shuttle relay (58.07) squad at the 2004 Drake Relays that finished only behind Division I schools Alabama and Arizona. Edwards also owns the school and conference pentathlon record.

John Van Why Award

Tommie King, a senior from Seattle, WA, received the John Van Why Award.

The Van Why Award is awarded to an outstanding male athlete at USD.

King became the school's first two-time All-American when he was tabbed to the 2004 NABC Division II All-America Team. He led the NCC in scoring this season with 21.2 points per game, which ranked 25th in NCAA Division II.

King finished his career with the Coyotes scoring 1,140 points, becoming the 15th player during Head Coach Dave Boots' tenure to score 1,000 points at South Dakota.

Catie Tobin Award

Becky Olson, a senior from Norfolk, NE, received the Catie Tobin Award as an outstanding female athlete at South Dakota.

Olson owns a 3.103 GPA in psychology and last fall became the school's first two-time first-team All-NCC selection. Olson is the only player in school history to join 1,000-1,000 club in kills and digs. She ranked second in the NCC with 4.10 kills per game and on Oct. 24 became the school's all-time kills leader (1,450).

Col. Robert F. Wales Award

Sarah Hoffman (Mitchell) and Josh Gassen (Rapid City) received the Col. Robert F. Wales Award. The Wales Award was established three years ago and honors student-athletes from South Dakota, who have achieved in the classroom, community and competition. Through Colonel Wales generosity (gift of more than $500,000), the USD Athletic Department awards numerous scholarships for its outstanding student athletes.

Hoffman had a 3.667 GPA as an undergrad and is currently enrolled in the master's program for exercise science. Hoffman was a member of the 4×100 meter shuttle relay team that set a school record of 59.42 in winning the competition at the 2004 Kansas Relays. She earned All-American honors by finishing third in the heptathlon at the NCAA D-II Outdoor Nationals in 2003. This past season, she served as a graduate assistant for the women's basketball program.

Gassen owns a 3.071 GPA in criminal justice and played in the 11th annual Cactus Bowl (Division II All Star Game) in January in Kingsville, TX. Gassen earned honorable mention All-NCC honors in 2004 and was a second-team All-NCC selection as a junior. The standout linebacker finished his career with 280 tackles, 150 solo stops, 12 quarterback sacks and 30 tackles for loss.

Coyote Character Awards

For the third straight year, the Student Athletic Activities Council presented Coyote Character Awards to student-athletes. The award honors the student-athletes' demonstration of the basics of good character including respect, trustworthiness, responsibility, fairness, caring and sportsmanship. These award winners have demonstrated good character on the field or court of play, as well as in the classroom and serve as role models for South Dakota athletics.

Recipients included Alexis Wissing, volleyball, Lincoln, NE, Aimee Nielsen, women's cross country, Mason City, Iowa; Emily Fox, women's indoor track and field, Sioux Falls; Laura Schmitz, women's outdoor track and field, Jefferson; Lacey Liebmann, women's swimming and diving, Crystal Lake, IL, Karrie Plate, women's golf, Vermillion; Stacy Schooley, women's basketball, Watertown; Ali Magel, women's soccer, Sioux City, IA; Keri Bolte, softball, Ralston, NE; Paul Brozik, men's indoor track and field, Winner; Sam Pribyl, men's outdoor track and field, Webster; Bobby Sullivan, baseball, Mitchell; Turner Trofholz, men's basketball, Schuyler, NE; Dirk Craft, men's swimming and diving, Palmer, AK; Brenden Huber, men's cross country, Huron; Kent Peterson, men's golf, Salem; Josh Gassen, football, Rapid City; Jessie Kunkel, U Dance Team.

At the end of the banquet, USD also recognized that more than 120 student-athletes that have attained a cumulative grade point average between 3.0 and 4.0.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>