Clubs Johnson honored at convention

The 54th Annual State Convention of Epsilon Sigma Alpha International was held at the Hamilton Inn, Sioux City, IA, in May. Alpha Lambda chapter, Vermillion, was officially represented by delegate and president Dorothy Wright and several members. Beta Eta chapter, Elk Point, was host for the convention. Shelly Huber, state president, presided at the general sessions. Friday evening activities consisted of a mixer, Chinese auction with proceeds for the ESA World Foundation, and membership skits. The first general assembly convened on Saturday morning with a flag ceremony, committee reports, nomination of officers, and association of the arts. Awards and recognition were held at the noon luncheon. Alpha Lambda chapter was recipient of several awards including Easter Seals, Circle of Life, State Project, Ronald McDonald House, and Philanthropic for donating the most monies per member. The Saturday evening banquet began with installation of officers. Sheba Schlaikjer, Sioux Falls, was installed as president for 2004-2005 with her theme "A Starlight Safari." Mary Geffre Johnson, Alpha Lambda, received the prestigious award "The Sixth Degree of Pallas Athene" for her outstanding contributions to the growth, progress, and achievement for her sorority. Johnson was also recognized by her chapter for "Woman of the Year," along with other chapters in the state. Alpha Pi chapter, Winner, was given recognition for the Outstanding Chapter of the Year. Service awards were presented with Maryln Harnois receiving recognition for 35 years in Alpha Lambda chapter. First time members recognized were Kay Rasmussen, Tanna Miller, Jan Gregory, Elizabeth Hjermstad, Maria Heimstra, and Carol King. A memorial service was held Sunday morning in honor of Eileen Ebbesen Kock, past state president and president of the chapter. Committee appointments, and installation of Shelly Huber into the "The Quills," an association of past state presidents, was conducted. Alpha Delta, Mitchell, will host the 2005 convention at the Holiday Inn, April 29-May 1 with the theme "Safari Inn." Day speaks of Oscar Howe The Emeritus Club was honored on June 2 by the presence of Heidi Howe and her daughter, Inga Dawn, who attended to hear Dr. John Day's informative and nostalgic presentation on Oscar Howe's career. In addition to Dr. Day's review of Oscar's artistic accomplishments, including the USD Oscar Howe Gallery and endowment, which Dr. Day administers, he and Dr. Knutson recalled several personal, some humorous, some touching anecdotes. Dr. Knutson, in introducing Dr. Day, also noted Dr. Day's extraordinary contributions to the College of Fine Arts, calling special attention to his long tenure as dean of fine arts. The club also welcomed Dr. Andy Karantinos, here on his annual pilgrimage from Arizona, and Dr. Joseph Basille, a new member. The Silver Dollar Saloon has upgraded our meeting room so there is very little noise interference.

4-H'ers decide community projects

Vice-President Stacy Bottolfson called the April 15 meeting of the Meckling Livestock 4-H Club to order. We said the Pledge of Allegiance and 4-H Pledge. Secretary Kelsy Fallan read the roll call. We had one guest, Andrew Eidem. Kelsy Fallan read the secretary report from last month; Sara Bye motioned and Gerrit Heine seconded to approve the minutes. The motion was approved. There was no treasurer's report. We talked about the old business from last month and the new business for this month. For old business we talked about who would attend the phone-a-thon, the cemetery bluff cleanup, our April community service and 4-H promotion projects, and 4-H camp and conference, and we set up a pig committee with Jenny Bye as chair. For new business we decided our April community service and promotion projects. New business was upcoming Project Days, the cost for printed State Fair books, planting our club flower pot, and the animal affidavits deadline. Allison Heine gave an illustrated talk on swine breeds and Elly Miiller gave a demonstration on sand art cookie mix. We did two judging schools. The meeting was adjourned and we had snacks brought by this month's hosts, Allison Heine and Elly Miiller. Our next meeting was May 20 at 6:30 p.m. We met at Stacy and Megan Bottolfson's house, then cleaned the Clay County Park Road ditches. Hosts were Chris, Nick, and Tanner Mart. Kelsy Fallan, secretary

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>