Clubs Eagles hold convention June 10-12

Kyle Straabe, New Rockford, ND, was installed as president, Dakota State Aerie, Fraternal Order of Eagles for 2004-2005 at the conclusion of the Dakota State Eagles Convention held in Wahpeton, ND, June 10-12. Carol Hilgemann, James-town, ND, was installed as president, Dakota State Auxiliary, Fraternal Order for the same ensuing fraternal year. Other Aerie officers elected were: Ralph Hilgemann, Jamestown, vice president; Louis Rubbelke, Minot, ND, chaplain; Robert Nelson, Harvey, ND, treasurer; Leo Becker, Bismarck, ND, secretary; Gene Muth, Mandan, ND, conductor; Creighton Thurman, Vermillion, inside guard; Ken Mosbrucker, Dickinson, ND, outside guard; and trustees Greg Anderson, New Rockford, LeRoy Lunde, Devils Lake, ND, and Kash Kramer, Dickinson. The outgoing president is Don Resler, Wahpeton, ND, who now becomes junior past state president. Other auxiliary officers elected were: Donna Misslitz, vice president, Aberdeen; Murial Wavra, Fargo, ND, chaplain; Bev Alex, Minot, treasurer; Frances Becker, Bismarck, secretary; Delores Roberts, Watertown, conductor; Mary Berger, Mandan, inside guard; Holly Niemi, Rugby, ND, outside guard; and trustees � Melanie Moore, Minot; Mona Peters, Rapid City, and Connie Waage, Vermillion. The outgoing president is Phyllis Carlson, Valley City, ND, who now becomes junior past madam state president. At the banquet on Thursday, June 10 the following grants, awards and presentations were made: $5,000 grants from the Art Ehrmann Cancer Fund for Cancer Research and D.D. Dunlap Kidney Fund for Kidney Research to NDSU, Fargo; $3,000 Alzheimer's Fund grant to USD, Vermillion, for Alzheimer's Research and special presentation of $1,000 to the Ann Carlson Center at Jamestown. Dakota State Aerie Eagles Scholarships grants in the amount of $500 were presented to Brittany Dettler, Langdon, ND, (who will attend the University of North Dakota) and Wesley J. Krebs, Belfield, ND, (who will attend Dickinson State University). Dakota State Auxiliary Hall of Fame award was presented to Jan Hanson, Fargo. Dakota State Aerie Hall of Fame awards were presented to William C. Wilson, Jamestown, and posthumously to Joe Schaan, Minot. Other awards presented by the Auxiliary during the business sessions of the convention are as follows: State Mother of the Year � LaVera Kuntz, Jamestown; Mrs. Eagle � Marlene Sass, Hettinger, ND; Women of the Year Nominee � Frances Fritz, Bismarck. Total all donations for Eagle charities from the Aerie session totaled $32,967.25. Total all donations for Eagle charities from the Auxiliary session totaled $28,786. Grand Aerie/Grand Auxiliary representatives in attendance were: Fred Smith Jr., past grand worthy president, Ishpeming, MI; Dale E. Webster, past grand worthy president, Valley City, ND; Chuck Lang, north central regional president, Harvey, ND; Peggy Carver, past grand madam president, Hermiston, OR; Joanne Rott, Jamestown, past grand madam president, and Lois Nelson, Fargo, past grand madam president. Donations made at the convention in June 2004 include: Max Baer Heart Fund � $4,100; Art Ehrmann Cancer fund � $2,650; Kidney fund � $1,200; Diabetes fund � $2,150; Muscular Dystrophy Association � $1,900; Hi Soaring Eagles Ranch � $2,225; Golden Eagles Fund � $2,800; Spinal Cord Injury � $1,450; Jimmy Durante Children's Fund � $3,325; Home on the Range � $9,967.25 and Alzheimer's Fund � $1,200. Total Donations given by the Dakota State Eagles was $32,967.25.

Rotarians learn of Junior Achievement

Vermillion Rotarian Roger Kozak and Kari Jensen, a fourth-grade teacher at Jolley Elementary School, shared the virtues of Junior Achievement with the Vermillion Rotary Club at its luncheon meeting Tuesday at the Al Neuharth Media Center. The Junior Achievement program was introduced to Jensen's students last year at the urging of then-Superintendent Robert Mayer. The purpose of the Junior Achievement program is to educate and inspire young people to value free enterprise, business and economics, to improve the quality of their lives. Other goals of the program are to develop the desire in young people to stay in school; to place community role models in classrooms, to build positive attitudes and to cultivate the future work force. Kozak, Ted Muenster and Paula Keller served as role models and introduced Junior Achievement to Jensen's fourth-graders last school year. "They taught the program, and I referred back to it later on," she said. Next year, Jensen said, there are plans to introduce Junior Achievement to all five fourth-grade classes at Jolley Elementary and to the fourth-grade class at St. Agnes School. Jensen said Junior Achievement does an excellent job of complementing her students' curriculum. "The materials are so good," she said. "I recommend the program. My students had to take SAT tests last year, and numerous questions on the test were covered by the Junior Achievement program." The goal in Vermillion is to introduce the program to two more grade levels within the next two years. Kozak and Jensen are busy not only educating the public about Junior Achievement, but also asking for financial contributions from the Rotary and other community service organizations to help expand the program.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>