Mandy Koupal receives third national player of the year honor

Mandy Koupal receives third national player of the year honor Mandy Koupal, a May graduate of The University of South Dakota, has won her second straight Daktronics, Inc., Division II Women's Basketball Player of the Year honor, according to an announcement July 26 by CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America).

Koupal, who was also named Daktronics's Player of the Year in 2002-03, highlighted the Daktronics, Inc., five-member All-America Squad.

Koupal becomes the second athlete to earn the Daktronics, Inc. Division II Player of the Year award twice, joining Abilene Christian's Jennifer Clarkson, who earned the honor in 1995 and 1996. This is Koupal's third Player of the Year honor in 2003-04.

The 6-foot-1 forward from Wagner, who averaged 24.4 points and 11.5 rebounds per game in 2003-04, was named the State Farm/WBCA Division II Player of the Year, and the Women's DII Bulletin Player of the Year.

In addition, Koupal was the CoSIDA College Division Women's Basketball Academic All-America of the Year.

Earlier this spring, Koupal was selected to Kodak All-America and Women's DII Bulletin's first teams, and also played in WBCA/USA Senior National Team All Star Game on April 3. She finished her career with 2,496 points, sixth all-time in NCAA Division II history.

Other members of the Daktronics' first-team included Cal Poly Pomona 5-10, senior, guard Candice Allen (Ontario, CA/24.5 ppg, 6.1 rpg); Lenior-Rhyne 6-1, junior, center Crystal Clary (Hampton, VA/21.4 ppg, 12.8 rpg); University of North Dakota 6-foot, senior, forward Marisa Leighton (Minnetonka, MN/22 ppg, 6 rpg), and California University's 5-10, junior, guard Sara McKinney (Duquense, PA/18.1 ppg, 8.8 rpg).

McKinney was a key member of California's NCAA Division II national championship team in 2004.

The second team is comprised of Midwestern State post Jel-ani Armstrong (New Orleans, LA); West Liberty State center Ashlea Bland (New Martinsville, WV); Kennesaw State center Denisha Ferguson (Clarksville, TN); Florida Southern center Lucresia West (Fort Myers, FL), and Glenville State guard Tracy Wyatt (Kegley, WV).

Rounding out the All-America squad are third team members Heather Cigich of Clarion University, PA (Johnstown, PA); Lindsey Dietz of the University of Minnesota-Duluth (Elk River, MN); Katelyn Dwyer of Assumption College (Wakefield, MA); Valerie Gustafson of Seattle Pacific (Olympia, WA), and Saint Leo's September Harrison (Tampa, FL).

The 2004 Daktronics, Inc. Division II All-America team has a trio of repeat performers in Koupal, who was first team in 2003; McKinney, who was second team in 2002, and Wyatt, who was third team in 2002.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The company also markets DakStats¨ sports statistics software with programs for football, basketball and baseball available.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>