Tanager football camp in Vermillion is a big success

Tanager football camp in Vermillion is a big success The Tanager Football Camp played host to over 60 Vermillion football players last week (June 21-25) at the Vermillion High School athletic practice fields. The players ranged from seventh grade through 12th grade.

The camp was hosted by the Vermillion football coaching staff. Included on the staff was Gary Culver, camp director and head football coach at Vermillion High School; Roger Heirigs, offensive coordinator at VHS; Jason Huska and Mark Iverson, fresh-football coaches at VHS; Lauren Tolsma and Jason Gault, middle school football coaches; Casey O'Connor, head wrestling coach and former middle school football coach; and Dave Lee, head trainer at VHS.

Huska, Iverson, and O'Connor are all former first team all-state football players at VHS. The staff has a combined 125 years of coaching experience.

"I am extremely blessed to have such an experienced staff take their time and work the football camp this summer," Culver said. "They were really the key to the success of the camp! Coach Jim McGuire, our defensive coordinator, would have also been on hand but had family commitments during the week. This would have also added even more experience to our staff."

The camp instruction included technique in all individual offensive and defensive positions as well as work in the specialty areas (kicking, punting, etc.).

"As I stated to the players attending the camp � 90 percent of this camp is the mental aspect of the game and 10 percent is the physical aspect. We cannot make any of these athletes football players in one week. But the point of the camp is to take the things they have learned and work on them the next two months before football practice begins. this is when the mental and physical parts of the game interconnect and become one. This is what football camp is all about," Culver said.

Attending the camp from the high school (ninth-12th grades) were: Ben Oberle, Andrew Pier, Donny Stewart, Sean Pederson, Harrison Hawley, Jackson Freidel, Billy Kjelden, Mike Hanson, Chris Merrigan, Jerrod Freidel, Kyle Brunick, Kyle Hubert, Tony Hubert, Ryan Gilberston, Dan Mollet, Heath Hubert, Ryan O'Connor, Paul Hammond, Josh Smock, Michael Van Dyke, Sam Laprath, Alex Barran, Brandon Hansen, C.J. Haakinson, Tom Mollet, Cody Hays, Joe Miller, Jacob Geis, Alex Anderson-Kahl, Ryan Scheidel, Bobby Dykstra, Ryan Husby, Jordan Anderson, and Matt Nelson.

Attending the camp from the middle school (seventh-eighth grades) were: Kylen Freidel, Earl Kiertzner, Tim Tigert, Brian Hansen, Chris Cameron, Cory Taggart, Richie Knutson, Joe Ensminger, Tony Thomas, Tyler Steele, Grant Lueders, Andrew Eidem, Michael Oberle, Tyler Johnson, Nick Anglin, John Patrick, Jacob Hinz, Jordan Robinson, Joey Brewer, Ben Knutson, Blaine Olson, Jason Rasmussen, Mike Millage, Wyatt Lee Johnson, Cody Merrigan, and Philip Munkvold.

"Mr. Hustle" award winners during the camp were as follows: Jacob Geis, Cory Taggart, Kylen Freidel, Chris Merrigan, Andrew Pier, and Alex Barran. Each player attending camp also received a camp t-shirt.

"The players attending the camp really did a great job! These guys made the camp a huge success and a lot of fun. I think we as coaches had as much fun as the players during the camp. Every coach found some great individual improvement and success in their respective coaching positions," Culver said.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>