USD summer commencement is July 29

USD summer commencement is July 29 Dr. Joseph Michael McFadden, former president of The University of South Dakota and current professor of history and president emeritus at the University of St. Thomas in Houston, TX, gave the keynote address for the 75th annual summer commencement on July 29 at the Inman Stadium Quad (the lawn east of the Al Neuharth Media Center) on the USD campus in Vermillion.

The address, titled "On the Changing Nature of Our World � And What to Do," was presented during the evening ceremonies. Approximately 290 students were candidates for degrees that were conferred by President James W. Abbott and Regent Terry Baloun.

Dr. McFadden served as president at USD from 1982 to 1988. While at the university, he was responsible for implementing a university-wide planning process and he successfully launched two major fund-raising campaigns that both exceeded their goals.

Dr. McFadden also received a special honor during his trip to USD. McFadden Hall, the university's newest residence hall for older students, was dedicated in honor of him during an afternoon ceremony.

Dr. McFadden has a distinguished background, receiving his bachelor's degree in history from Lewis College in Illinois, his master's degree in American history from the University of Chicago and his doctorate in American History from Northern Illinois University.

He has also completed studies at Loyola University, Harvard University and the University of Wyoming. Dr. McFadden is the author of numerous papers on historical topics and issues surrounding higher education.

When he is not writing, teaching or running a university, Dr. McFadden enjoys spending time studying and relaxing in Ireland.

Candidates for degrees from Vermillion and surrounding area are: Vermillion � Cathy Larsen, MS, Technology for Education & Training; Christina Elizabeth Heaton, BA, Anthropology, Spanish; Christopher J. Hoover, MA, Political Science; Deana D. Fuller, MBA, Business Administration; Debora K. McNary, MA, Special Education; Elizabeth A. Simmons, MS, Technology for Education & Training; Garrett J. Bruening, MBA, Business Administration; Greg S. Rustand, MBA, Business Administration; Kara A. Barkmeier, MA, Communication Disorders; Kathy A. Hayes, MS, Administrative Studies; Kevin J. Kennedy, BA, Contemporary Media & Journalism; Kris Meredith, MS, Physical Therapy; Mark A. Iverson, MA, Educational Administration; Mark B. Dick, MS, Physical Therapy; Nancy J. Kills Small, MA, Psychology; Nikolai P. Breitkopf, MS, Physical Therapy; Ryan L. Schuknecht, MM, Music Education; Stephanie J. McDonald, MPA, Accounting; Viborg � Laura Jane Hybertson, BBA, Accounting, Summa Cum Laude; Laura Jane Hybertson, MPA, Accounting; Tracy Mellegard, BSMT, Medical Technology; Wakonda � Mandy Petersen, MBA, Business Administration; Alcester � Adam A. St Pierre, BA, Contemporary Media & Journalism; Carla J. Winquist, MA, Elementary Education; Carrie Fickbohm, MA, Elementary Education; Centerville � Aaron Lee Hybertson, BBA, Economics, Summa Cum Laude; Dakota Dunes � Jennifer I. Olson, MA, Secondary Education; Irene � Tami J. Roesler, MS, Technology for Education & Training; Jefferson � William P. McKelvey, Jr., MA, Educational Administration; Meckling � Jackie Mount, MBA, Business Administration;

Newcastle, NE � Quinn M. Kneifl, BS, Physician Assistant Studies; Ponca, NE � Christy S. Nelson, MS, Physical Therapy; Erin Cathleen Hurley, BS, Physician Assistant Studies; Jami Renee Peterson, BSR, Recreation, Cum Laude; Kelly L. Meyer, MM, Music Education.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>