Clay County 4-H State Fair results

Clay County 4-H State Fair results The 2004 South Dakota State Fair was a new experience for all 4-H families due to 4-H program and event changes. Not only did State Fair dates change, but the 4-H events were condensed into a four-day period to allow youth the opportunity to experience as many Youth-In-Action and showmanship events without missing school. 4-H had major show times during the first half of the State Fair Sept. 4-7. Three hundred fifty entries were exhibited by Clay County 4-H members through static exhibits, Youth-In-Action contests and livestock shows.

Ten Clay County judging teams participated in the respective State Judging Contests. Three teams and three individuals scored in the Top Ten of their respective contests. Amy Luxem, Wakonda, placed fourth in the Senior Photography Judging Contest. Abby Ouellette, Vermilion and Patrick Morrison, Wakonda placed eighth in the Beginner Photography and Senior Horticulture Judging Contests, respectively.

Judging teams placing in the Top Ten were Senior Photography, third place; Junior Family and Consumer Science, fifth place and Junior Visual Arts, seventh place.

Clay County also had three teams that competed at the State Livestock Judging Contest that was held July 30 in Huron. The Beginner team placed third and the Senior team placed ninth. Individuals placing in the Top Ten at this event were Taylor Christensen, Beresford with ninth place in the Beginners contest and Luke Heine, Vermillion, placing seventh in the Senior contest.

Theresa Dendinger, Vermillion, received a purple ribbon on her Fashion Revue entry. Kelsy Fallan, Vermillion, received a blue ribbon for her Special Foods Contest entry. Public presentations earned Taylor Geu, Vermillion and Pearl Gaidelis, Wakonda, purple ribbons. Jana Bye received a purple ribbon for her demonstration.

Judging team members earning purple ribbons were Kelsy Fallan, Abby Ouellette, Amy Luxem, Patrick Morrison, Taylor Christensen and Luke Heine. Blue ribbon recipients were Ashley Ouellette (3), Kelly O'Dea, Shannon Jepsen (2), Amy Luxem, Stacey Joy, Kelsy Fallan, Garrett Jepsen (2), Ellen Hanson, Jana Bye, Andrew Jensen, Colette Joy, Allison Heine, Chad Peterson, Chelsey Cahoon, Seth Heine and Molly Hansen. Red ribbons went to Allison Heine (4), Abby Ouellette (2), Ellen Hanson (2), Jana Bye (2), Colette Joy (2), Patrick Morrison (2), Andrew Jensen, Garrett Jepsen (2), Stacey Joy, Kelly O'Dea, Shannon Jepsen, Ashley Ouellette, Andy Peterson, Sam Hansen, Kelsy Fallan, Gerrit Heine and Hope Lindstrom. Earning white ribbons were Chad Peterson, Kelsy Fallan and Abby Ouellette.

Ribbon placings earned in 4-H project areas are as follows:

Child Development

Purple: Sarah Anderson, Jennifer Bye, Emily Miller.

Blue: Andrea Lias.


Purple: Alexandra Nelson


Purple: Brittany Bye, Elizabeth Bye, Jennifer Bye, Taylor Gylfe, Ashley Ouellette, Stacey Joy, Kelsy Fallan, Abby Ouellette (2), Jana Bye.

Blue: Jana Bye, Annie Carlson, Kelsy Fallan, Abby Gylfe, Meghan Gylfe (2), Taylor Gylfe, Ellen Hanson, Emily Holoch, Abby Ouellette, Brittany Rederick, Amber Walker, Stacey Joy.

Red: Brittany Bye, Elizabeth Bye, Jennifer Bye, Sara Bye.

White: Sara Bye, Jana Bye.


Purple: Jennifer Bye.


Purple: Emily Holoch, Austin Krier.

Expressive Arts

Purple: Amy Luxem.

First Aid

Purple: Sarah Anderson.

Blue: Megan Bottolfson, Taylor Christensen, Stacy Bottolfson, Kelsy Fallan.

Foods & Nutrition

Purple: Tia Krier.

Blue: Samantha Smith, Sara Bye.

Food Preservation

Purple: Abby Ouellette, Jana Bye, Ashley Ouellette, Kelsy Fallan (2).

Blue: Sara Bye.


Purple: Kelsy Fallan.

Home Living

Purple: Kelsy Fallan (2), Raleigh Sykes, Megan Bottolfson (2), Ellen Hanson (3), Jill Blumer, Brittany Bye, Elizabeth Bye, Jennifer Bye, Sara Bye, Megan Gylfe, Stacy Bottolfson, Chad Peterson (2), Annie Carlson, Amy Luxem, Amber Walker, Sarah Anderson, Carlee Sorensen, Kent Stockland.

Blue: Meghan Gylfe, Thomas Walker, Andrea Lias (2).

Red: Andrea Lias.

Hobbies & Collections

Purple: Emma Jensen, Jeanie Stockland.


Red: Abby Ouellette.

Outdoor Education

Red: Jill Blumer.


Purple: Emily Holoch, Taylor Geu (2), Tony Hubert (2).

Blue: Taylor Geu (3), Hannah Nelson (2).

Red: Jana Bye, Sarah Anderson, Emily Holoch (2), Hannah Nelson.

White: Stacy Bottolfson.

Visual Arts

Purple: Adrianne Logue, Brittany Rederick, Sara Bye, Emily Holoch (2), Allison Heine (2), Sarah Anderson (2), Ellen Hanson, Amber Walker, Stacy Bottolfson, Abby Ouellette, Kaia Nelson, Andy Peterson, Chad Peterson (3), Tony Hubert, Laura Aga, Ashley Ouellette.

Blue: Tia Krier, Austin Krier, Amber Walker, Megan Bottolfson, Emily Holoch, Andrea Lias, Brittany Rederick (2), Amy Luxem.

Red: Kaia Nelson, Ashley Ouellette, Jill Blumer, Emily Holoch, Megan Bottolfson, Tony Hubert.

White: Tony Hubert.

Wood Science

Purple: Andy Peterson, Ellen Hanson.

Blue: Ellen Hanson, Tia Krier, Katie VanBalen.

Red: Stacy Bottolfson, Megan Bottolfson.

Breeding Beef

Purple: Kayla Geuther (2).

Blue: Taylor Christensen, Harrison Hawley.

Market Beef

Purple: Molly Hansen, Luke Heine.

Blue: Sam Hansen, Taylor Christensen, Harrison Hawley, Adrianne Logue (2), Tony Hubert, Kyle Hubert.

Red: Brett Logue, Michaela Hawley (2).

Blue: Taylor Geu (3).

Purple: Adrianne Logue (3), Joseph Ensminger (2), Laura Aga, Pearl Gaidelis.

Red: Jeff Carr.


Purple: Cody Geuther.

Blue: Cody Geuther.


Purple: Andy Peterson (5), Chad Peterson (5), Nick Peterson (4), Patrick Morrison (5).

Blue: Andy Peterson (2), Patrick Morrison (2).

Red: Patrick Morrison.


Purple: Kaia Nelson (7), Sandra Geuther (3), Kayla Geuther (5), Cody Geuther (3).

Blue: Kaia Nelson, Sandra Geuther (6), Kayla Geuther (3), Cody Geuther (4).


Purple: Gerrit Heine (2), Luke Heine (2), Seth Heine, Kelsy Fallan (2).

Blue: Jana Bye (2), Allison Heine, Gerrit Heine, Seth Heine, Andrew Jensen.

Red: Andrew Jensen, Emma Jensen (2).


Purple: JoAnna Strom, Andrew Jensen, Emma Jensen, Shannon Jepsen (2), Seth Heine (2), Luke Heine, Nick Peterson, Andy Peterson.

Blue: Allison Heine (2), Gerrit Heine (2), Luke Heine, JoAnna Strom, Chad Peterson, Nick Peterson, Adrianne Logue, Jana Bye, Sara Bye, Emma Jensen, Andrew Jensen, Shannon Jepsen (3), Garrett Jepsen (3).

Livestock Showmanship �


Purple: JoAnna Strom.

Blue: Adrianne Logue.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>