Committee formed for city manager hunt

Committee formed for city manager hunt by David Lias Three Vermillion citizens have been named to a local committee that will undertake the task of searching for a new city manager for Vermillion.

Matt Fairholm, Gene Lunn and Lynne Day were named to the committee Monday by the Vermillion City Council.

Gregg Peters was chosen as an alternate in the event one of the three in unable to serve.

The council went through its own search process to form the committee. Vermillion citizens were urged to apply and aldermen had to choose the committee from 16 applicants.

A ranking process was used by each member of the council to narrow the list down to three positions.

Council members who will also serve on the seven member committee are Mary Edelen, Kent Osborne, Jack Powell and Dan Christopherson.

USD student representative Lynn von Koch will observe the process, but will not have a vote.

The council also appointed City Finance Officer Mike Carlson to serve as interim city manager effective Oct. 28. Carlson will serve until a new city manager is hired and on the job.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>