Kozak to chair 2004-05 Junior Achievement Board

Kozak to chair 2004-05 Junior Achievement Board Junior Achievement of Vermillion is proud to announce that Dr. Roger Kozak is serving as the board chair for 2004-2005.

Collette Abbott has been named board vice chair, and Kari Jensen, Jolley Elementary School, is the board secretary. Other newly elected board members include the following business and community leaders: Bob Bowker, Jolley Elementary School; Cliff Deverell; Mary Lea Hennies; Dr. Cindy Johnson Brown, Eye Care Eye Wear; John Storm, Polaris Ind.; Dr. Mel Ustad; Darwin Van Den Oever, CorTrust Bank; and Mark Froke, Vermillion School District.

The Junior Achievement of Vermillion Board was established in 2004.

Junior Achievement is the world's largest and fastest growing organization dedicated to educating young people about business, economics, and free enterprise. Through age-appropriate curricula, JA programs teach students how they can impact the world around them as individuals, workers and consumers.

Junior Achievement programs will be taught in fourth-grade classrooms of Vermillion's private and public schools. Vermillion JA volunteers will go into the classrooms serving as role models with the goal of teaching over 100 Vermillion students about local, regional and national business and economics.

Dr. Al Kurtenbach, Daktronics co-founder and state JA board chair said, "Junior Achievement is a great way for business people to get involved with the schools and children in a very positive way. It would not be possible without the dedication, care and guidance of the local board."

In 2003-2004 Junior Achievement of South Dakota reached 28,471 JA students, and has a goal of reaching 30,000 by 2005.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>