Coyotes suffer heartbreaking loss to UNO, 77-72 in overtime

Coyotes suffer heartbreaking loss to UNO, 77-72 in overtime In its second overtime game of the season and second at the Lee and Helene Sapp Fieldhouse, the South Dakota men's basketball team (16-5, 2-4 NCC) didn't come away with the same result that they did in against Colorado School of Mines back on Nov. 26 at the Nebraska-Omaha Classic, as the UNO Mavericks (18-3, 4-2) defeated USD, 77-72 Feb. 3.

The first half was played as tight as could be as there was just a five-point margin at halftime with six lead changes. Both teams were around 40 percent shooting in the first half, with two three-point baskets per team. USD did have a one free throw advantage, by going 6-of-8 (75 percent) at the line, but UNO had the field goal advantage, 14-11.

In the second half, the game was even closer as there were eight more ties, but the most important one came at the second-half buzzer when Abdul Mills banked in a three-pointer surrounded by three Coyotes to force the game into overtime, 63-63.

USD, who allowed UNO to score the first five points of overtime, was without the services of junior forward Turner Trofholz who finished with 16 points, in the overtime session as he picked up his fifth foul with 18 seconds left in the second half.

The Coyotes came with in two points, 72-70, at 1:29, when senior point guard Josh Mueller hit two of his 13 free throws, but could get no closer when the Mavericks got a tip in with 1 minute left.

After that, USD turned the ball over and was forced to foul.

USD outshot the Mavericks, 39 percent (23-of-59) to 38.6 percent (27-of-70) and each team hit six three-pointers. The Coyotes made 20-of-25 (80 percent) free throws compared to 17-of-27 (63 percent) for UNO.

UNO outrebounded South Dakota, 51-38.

Mueller finished with a game-high 27 points.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>