VHS vocalists successful at small group contest

VHS vocalists successful at small group contest The VHS Choral Department participated in SDHSAA Region I Small Group Vocal Contest on Wednesday, Feb. 9 in Yankton.

VHS took 43 solos, 11 duets and 16 ensembles/large groups. After hard work and many hours of preparation, the singers took home 70 percent division I (superior) ratings, including six division I+ ratings. They also received 22 division II (excellent) ratings. Choir members were awarded a total of 219 superior medals.

The following ensembles received division I+ ratings:

Senior Women's Large Group (Mary Thompson, Sarah Anderson, Theresa Dendinger, Georgia Gray-Lobe, Kristi Olson, Molly O'Connor, Laura Aga, Ali Loen, Ellen Odson, Erin Austin, Jacque Smidt, Sarah Christophersen, Jackie Thomas, Brittany Weydert, Tasia Job), All-State Ensemble (Lindsay Morecraft, Amanda Grana-as, Hannah Pommersheim, Laura Aga, Peter Gehm, A. J. Manning, C. J. Harden, and Chris Jensen) and soloists Jacob Geis, C. J. Harden, Dru Daniels and Laura Aga.

The following soloists were awarded division I (superior) ratings:

Kristi Olson, Hannah Pommersheim, Lindsay Morecraft, Molly O'Connor, Monica Wing, Molly Woodard, Kim Baker, Meagan O'Connor, Mary Thompson, A.J. Manning, Ellen Odson, Chris Jensen, Carrie Christensen, Jadee Hofer, Randy Kabambi, Alicia Hesla, Gabby Ricahrd, Anna Geis, Erin Austin, Amanda Granaas, Kate Renner (piano), Daria Erkina (piano) and Michelle Rydell (piano).

The following soloists were awarded division II (excellent) ratings:

Christina Estrada, Danielle Fox, Georgia Gray-Lobe, Molly Hammond, Laura Jacobson, Kaili Johnson, BreAnn Lueders, Kelly Miskimins, Liz Moyer, Paige Prosser, Katrina Salitros, Jennifer Stultz, Stephanie Taylor, Jessa Waters, Christina Wellsfry and Katrina Salitros (piano).

The following duets received division I ratings:

Laura Aga/Ellen Odson, Allison Beeman/Jennie Bellis, Chris Jensen/C.J. Harden, Lindsay Morecraft/Hannah Pommersheim, A.J. Manning/Bethany Sand, Kim Baker/Erin Hesla and Amanda Granaas/Molly O'Connor.

The following duet sreceived division II ratings:

Ariel Begley/Kata Gombocz, Jacque Smidt/Erin Austin, Paige Prosser/Jadee Hofer, and BreAnn Lueders/Stephanie Taylor.

The following ensembles received division I ratings:

VHS Rhythm in red, Senior Women's Ensemble (Thompson, Olson, Gray-Lobe, Molly O'Connor, Aga, K. Austin, Loen, E. Austin, Odson, Smidt, Wing), Senior Women's Trio (Molly O'Connor, Aga, Wing), Junior Women's Large Group (E. Hesla, Woodard, Becky Hanson, Stultz, Miriah Paris, Allison Beeman, Prosser, Trisha Irvine, Stacy Munkvold, Wellsfry, Amy Mollet, Sam Mount, Geis, Meagan O'Connor, Hofer, Christensen, Shelli Knutson, Jennie Bellis, Baker, Fox, Kati Dehner), Junior Women's Trio (Prosser, Geis, Christensen), Sophomore Women's Large Group (Molly Manning, Morecraft, Pommersheim, Alicia Moreau, Gombocz, Kristin Welk, Begley, Hammond, Engelhart, Johnson, Lueders, Rasmussen, Merryman, Sand, McCann), Sophomore Wo-men's Quintet (Morecraft, M. Manning, Pommersheim, Sand, Lueders), Sophomore Women's Quartet (Gombocz, Begley, Engelhart, Hammond), Freshmen Women's Large Group ( Lindsay Covill, Daniels, Estrada, Granaas, Sarah Hansen, Michelle Harnois, A. Hesla, Jacobson, Raychel Lorenz, Miskimins, Moyer, Richard, Salitro, Natalie Severson, Waters), Freshmen Women's Quartet (Richard, Granaas, Salitros, Estrada), Men's Large Group (A. Manning, Peter Gehm, Kabambi, Matt Preszler, Tom Pearson, Matt Clark, Mike Fedderson, Reid Meierkort, Jerrod Friedel, Danny Redlin, Glen Foltz, Ben Rogge, Jensen, Harden, Geis, Chris Merrigan, Kris Stevens), and Men's Ensemble (A. Manning, Gehm, Foltz, Kabambi, Rogge, Jensen, Geis, Harden).

The following ensembles received division II ratings:

Freshmen Women's Quartet (Jacobson, A. Hesla, Daniels, Waters) and Junior Women's Quartet (Woodard, Beeman, Knutson, Bellis).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>