Clay RWS gives project updates

Clay RWS gives project updates A record crowd attended the Clay Rural Water System's 26th annual meeting held March 12 at the St. Agnes School Auditorium in Vermillion.

Over 125 members heard reports from officers and staff, who reviewed the system's financial and operating statistics for 2004. Updates were given on two major construction projects � the Greenfield Supply Project and the South Union Expansion Project.

The system's upcoming 30th anniversary was also noted. Tim Gregoire was recognized with a Clay Rural Water System Achievement Award for his 21 1/2 years of employment with the system. Gregoire retired March 1.

Alan Wittmuss of the S.D. Department of Environment and Natural Resources gave a presentation on a Vermillion River Watershed monitoring program. Morris Elcock of the South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems gave a review of the 30th anniversary of the statewide association.

The results of the recent district elections were announced. Three members of the board of directors were re-elected for three year terms.

Glenn Nelson was re-elected in District I, Craig Nelson of Vermillion was re-elected in District II and Dave Heeren of Akron was re-elected in District III.

Following the annual meeting the board re-organized and elected officers for the coming year. Rick Peterson of Vermillion was elected president, John Haver, Wakonda, was elected vice-president and Glenn Nelson, was elected secretary-treasurer.

Clay Rural Water is a member owned, non-profit water system that provides water service to 1,625 locations in Clay, Union and portions of Yankton, Turner and Lincoln counties.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>