Gottsleben is North Central Region Coach of the Year

Gottsleben is North Central Region Coach of the Year Dave Gottsleben, the director of the South Dakota track and field program, has been named one of eight NCAA Division II regional coaches of the year in an announcement this week by Mondo/U.S. Track Coaches Association.

For the seventh time at USD, Gottleben was honored as the North Central Region Coach of the Year for 2005 after directing the Coyotes to the North Central Conference Indoor Championships held at the DakotaDome. His squad rolled up 245 points, which was the second best point total in the history of the NCC. At the meet, USD had eight individual or relay champions. In addition, 14 USD athletes had qualifying marks for the NCAA Division II Indoor Championships.

Gottsleben, who is in his 21st season as head men's track and field coach at South Dakota, has been named NCC Coach of the Year, either indoor or outdoor, eight times in his tenure at USD. He has coached student-athletes that have earned 127 all-American honors, as well as four national champions, a third-place NCAA Division II finish at the 1997 indoor meet, a fourth-place finish at the 2001 indoor nationals and third-place at the 2000 outdoor national championships.

He has led his teams to seven top-10 NCAA finishes.

In 1997, he was named the Division II Men's National Coach of the Year by the U.S. Track Coaches Association. In 1994 he received the NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Track and Field Coaches Association Award for his distinguished service to Division II track.

Gottsleben, a native of Brookings, received his undergraduate (1975) and master's degree (1980) from South Dakota State. Gottsleben was the head coach at Menno High School from 1975-1979, and head men's and women's track coach at Dakota State from 1979-1983.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>