USD’s May, Bellis, Gombocz receive Cutler Faculty Awards

USD's May, Bellis, Gombocz receive Cutler Faculty Awards The University of South Dakota recently named the recipients of its prestigious Richard & Sharon Cutler Faculty Awards in Liberal Arts.

From the sciences division, Dr. Stanley May of the department of chemistry was honored for a variety of activities including his work with students on statistical analysis of scientific data in general chemistry and numerical methods in physical chemistry; for work with honors chemistry; for work on a Palm Pilot project in a lab course; for mentorship of some of the university's most outstanding students; for a research program that includes laser spectroscopy of light-emitting materials; and for participation in an NSF-REU site on photodynamics, as well as grant funding now totaling hundreds of thousands of dollars. Dr. May also took on a leadership role in the creation of a 2010 Center of Excellence.

From the social sciences division, Dr. Teri Bellis of the department of communication disorders received the award for her strong student evaluations in a wide range of courses; for a focus on multidisciplinary problem-solving, which includes exposure to the concept of liberal learning to accompany the literature in her field of audiology; for her creation of mock interdisciplinary teams to promote learning; and for publication of two books on central auditory processing disorders, several articles and two book chapters on related subjects, all in the last few years.�

From the humanities division, Dr. Istvan Gombocz of the department of languages, linguistics and philosophy received the award for his work in teaching students about German literature, civilization, and history; for his occasional focus on teaching business German; for work published in a refereed journal on the challenges and opportunities of teaching language at a distance; for regular sponsorship of students in IdeaFest; for regular contributions to the interdisciplinary humanities component of the honors program; and for publication of a half-dozen articles ranging from international culture to literary criticism.

The awards were endowed by Richard and Sharon Cutler of Sioux Falls to recognize distinguished faculty in the College of Arts & Sciences. Three awards � each carrying a $3,500 cash prize payable through The University of South Dakota Foundation � are given annually to faculty who advance liberal arts education through teaching and research over a three-year span.

The Cutlers are natives of Wessington Springs. Sharon Cutler has served on the board of directors of the Senior Companions in Sioux Falls. She is also involved in many community activities.

Richard Cutler graduated summa cum laude with a B.A. in history from The University of South Dakota in 1963, and earned a J.D. summa cum laude from the School of Law in 1965. He was presented an honorary doctorate by USD in 1997. Cutler is currently chair of The University of South Dakota Foundation.

, co-chair of Campaign South Dakota, and is a past chair of the board of trustees of the National Music Museum in Vermillion. He is an attorney with Cutler & Donahoe, LLP, in Sioux Falls.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>