Vermillion receives achievement award

Vermillion receives achievement award Heidi Peterson, program manager, and Lisa Ketcham, executive director of the Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce and Development Company, accept the achievement award from Jim Hagen, secretary of the South Dakota Department of Tourism and State Development. Four South Dakota communities, including Vermillion, went home with $11,500 in prizes following the presentation of the South Dakota Achievement Awards at the Governor's Economic Development Conference held April 6 in Pierre.

The awards program, a friendly competition between South Dakota communities, focuses on individual project accomplishments for the past year.

Four prizes of $2,875 were awarded. A winner was chosen in each of the three population categories with the final winner selected at large.

Vermillion was selected a winner in the "at large" category for its recent creation of a business incubation complex.

"On behalf of the Vermillion community and the team involved with the business incubator project, we were very pleased and honored to accept this award," said Lisa Ketcham, executive director of the Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce/Development Company. "We would especially like to thank the utility companies in South Dakota for sponsoring the award, the selection committee who had the difficult task of narrowing down four winners out of many great communities who work hard to develop themselves and our state.

"We also thank the Governor's office, the Department of Tourism and State Development, city staff including Jeff Tanner, Jessica Munce, and Mike Carlson for initiating Vermillion's nomination, as well as the many individuals who helped us with this project," she said. "Being recognized as a community is truly an honor."

The cash prizes are donated by the following sponsors: Black Hills FiberCom, Black Hills Power, East River Electric Power Cooperative, MidAmerican Energy Company, Montana-Dakota Utilities Company, Otter Tail Power Co., NorthWestern

Energy, Rushmore Electric Power Cooperative, West River Electric Association and Xcel Energy.

Other winners include Huron for Dakota Turkey Growers, Clark for its industrial park and Faulkton for its new community center.

The following communities were also recognized with certificates of innovation: Belle Fourche for housing development; Beresford for housing and golf course development;

Oacoma for a community center; Platte for a movie theater; Spearfish for a sports complex and Wagner for a walking trail.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>