Local students honored at academic excellence luncheon

Local students honored at academic excellence luncheon The academic top 1 percent of all students of the Class of 2005 from 196 high schools in South Dakota were honored at a luncheon in Pierre on Monday, May 1.

Sarah E. Anderson and Lindsey C. Davies of Vermillion High School were among the 225 students recognized by Gov. Mike Rounds at the event, sponsored by the Associated School Boards of South Dakota (ASBSD).

An audience of approximately 600 parents, guardians, school district staff and students were moved by an inspiring and challenging speech from Gov. Rounds, prior to presenting each student with a certificate.

Joanne Groves, president ASBSD, presented each student a pin commemorating the student's achievement. Wayne Lueders, executive director of ASBSD, Christie L. Johnson, executive director of School Administrators of South Dakota, and Father Gary DeRouchey, St. Peter and Paul Catholic Church of Pierre, also took part in the celebration of the students' academic excellence.

Financial support for the event was furnished by S.D. Community Foundation, Citibank and the ASBSD.

The Associated School Boards of South Dakota is a private, nonprofit organization serving 966 school board members from 166 school districts serving 124,458 students.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>