USD sprint medley team receives title

USD sprint medley team receives title The South Dakota men's sprint medley relay squad, which used a strong final leg from James Jeffery, won a Drake Relays college division title on Friday, April 29 in Des Moines, IA. The relay squad highlighted a number of quality performances by the USD track and field team on the second day of the Drake Relays.

Jeffery helped the Coyotes to the title by running a 1:51 leg as USD edged Doane College and Nebraska-Wesleyan at the wire. Along with Jeffery, the Coyotes' squad included Eric Kittles and Andrew Edwards on the 200-meter legs and David Coley, who ran the 400-meter leg. USD had a clocking of 3:24.69 while Doane came in at 3:24.72 and Nebraska-Wesleyan had a 3:25.20.

Also on Friday, Derek Gearman, USD's two-sport standout, set a personal-outdoor best with a high jump of 7'0.25'', which placed him second in the college/university division at the Drake Relays. Gearman's jump is also a provisional qualifying standard to the NCAA Division II outdoor nationals.

Marci Miller placed fifth in the university/college division of the women's pole vault by going 12'05.50''. Miller tied her season-best performance while recording the top finish among NCC performers in the event. She tied the second-best vault but misses during the competition placed her in the fifth spot.

USD's women's distance medley squad finished 10th in the college division. The team, which clocked a time of 12:14.96, included Kaylee Keating, Mandy Manning, Amy Duba, and Aimee Nielsen.

The Coyotes' 4×400-meter relay squad advanced to the college division finals with a clocking of 3:46.53, which was the third-best time in the prelims. The team included Kassy Laber, Heidi Muellenberg, Meghann Reifenrath, and Stephanie Gebhart.

USD men's 4×100 meter relay squad advanced in the division race.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>