Park Jefferson

Park Jefferson May 28, 2005

Family Night Presented by the Sioux City Journal and Taco Johns saw Hans Houfek pick up his first win of the 2005 racing season, and John Cain, Andy Hofmeyer, and Jay Noteboom pick up repeat wins.

In the KPTH Fox 44 Charger Division. Heat race winner Dan VanBruggen started on the pole position and lead the field to the green flag. Randy Harlow moved quickly to the lead from his third place starting position, and held the point until lap 10 when he was passed after a fierce battle by John Cain. Cain would lead the field to the checkered flag followed Harlow, Rusty Montagne, Jeff Frederick, and Kyle Robinson.

Andy Hofmeyer continued his early season domination of the OK 1 Stop b-modified division, but had to work hard for it tonight. Hofmeyer was penalized on the initial start for jumping the gun and was sent to the rear of the field. Greg Taylor lead the field to the green but was also quickly overtaken by fourth starting Les Lundquist. Lundquist and Keith Sanders would battle for the top two spots for the next 10 laps, until Hofmeyer worked his way into third. Hofmeyer passed both Sanders and Lundquist on the same lap and lead the field to the checkers. Hofmeyer, Lundquist, Sanders, Darrin Roepke, and Jacob Brown were the top five.

The B and B Salvage Super Stocks featured incredible racing action. Heath Warntjes led the field to the green with outside pole sitter Buddy Taylor set to challenge right away. Warntjes and Taylor would battle for the lead with Warntjes running the bottom groove and Taylor on the cushion. Fourth starting Hans Houfek then joined the battle and took over on lap 3. Houfek would lead the next 13 laps to the checkered but Warntjes and Taylor would continue to battle for position. Houfek was a popular first time winner in the 2005 season and was followed to the line by Warntjes, Taylor, Dave Kuehn, David Horsley and with a sixth place finish Curt Van Beek unofficially takes over the point lead.

In the Y101.3 Modified division Reese Coffee took advantage of his pole position start and jumped out to a full straightaway lead until caution fell on lap three. Coffee and Ricky Stephan would then battle for the lead over the course of the next few laps, and subsequent restarts. On a lap 6 restart Coffee and Stephan lead the field with twelfth starting Jay Noteboom up to sixth. Noteboom was the only driver using the cushion early in the feature, and took full advantage by passing Stephan and Coffee off of turn two. Noteboom picked up his third straight win in three starts at Park Jefferson. Noteboom was followed by Stephan, Coffee, Mike Hanson and Mark Wenzlaff.

Saturday night Coca Cola presents Kids Night. Pit gates open at 4:30, grandstand gates at 5:30, and racing starts at 7. Tickets are $9 for adults and children 6-13 $3.00.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>