Aldermen take oath of office Tuesday

Aldermen take oath of office Tuesday by David Lias Circuit Court Judge Art Rusch administered the oath of office to one returning and three new members of the Vermillion City Council Tuesday night.

New members of the council are Nathan Adams, representing the Northwest Ward, Roger Jeck, who resides in the Central Ward, and Jere Chapman, who represents the Southeast Ward.

Incumbent Kevin Annis of the Northeast Ward also was sworn in.

The four individuals will serve a three-year term on the city council.

Resolutions of appreciation were approved by the council in recognition of outgoing aldermen Lynne Day of the Central Ward, Tom Davies of the Northwest Ward and Dennis Zimmerman of the Southwest Ward.

The council re-elected Jack Powell as its president and Annis as its vice president.

It also re-appointed Mike Carlson as city finance officer and Jim McCulloch as city attorney.

Mayor Dan Christopherson also appointed aldermen to a number of city council committees.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>