Park Jefferson

Park Jefferson July 16, 2005

Tom McKenzie visited victory lane for the first time in the 2005 racing season at Park Jefferson Speedway Saturday night; Rusty Montagne and Andy Hofmeyer extended their points leads with wins; and Reese Coffee added another victory to his season total.

In the KPTH Fox 44 Charger Division Lenny Tucker and Travis Fetterman paced the field from the front row. �Heat winners John Cain and Dan Van Bruggen started 10th and 9th respectively. On the green flag, 4th starting Tom Love jumped to an early race lead. As Matt Guillaume and John Cain began to battle Love for the lead, the left front tire of Love went flat bringing out the caution. �Guillaume would inherit the lead. Eventually Guillaume would lose the lead to Rusty Montagne who picked up his 4th win in 5 weeks.�John Cain, Randy Harlow, Paul Menard and Travis Fetterman would follow Montagne to the line.

Andy Hofmeyer picked up his 8th win of the season in 13 starts. Hofmeyer and Randy Lehman picked up heat race wins with Chad DeVries and Kathy Dahlkoetter getting the front row starting honors. Dahlkoetter would leadfor the first half of the race until Hofmeyer ran away from the field, but a fierce battle would wage on for the remaining spots in the top five with Dahlkoetter holding on for 2nd, Les Lundquist, Darin Roepke, and Keith Sanders rounding out the top five.

In the B&B Salvage Super Stocks Dave Kuehn and Tom McKenzie picked up heat race. �Dan Kuehn and Curt Van Beek set the pace from the front row. Hans Houfek would jump to the lead on the outside of a three wide race for the top spot. �Houfek would lead the first half before losing the lead to Van Beek. �Coming to the white flag, McKenzie made a run off of turn four to pull up beside Van Beek. Contact between the two sent Van Beek spinning up the track where contact was made with Buddy Taylor and others. McKenzie found victory lane for the first time in the 2005 season. Following McKenzie to the line were Sid Mosher, Houfek, Glenn Wynia and Kuehn.

In the Y 101.3 NASCAR Modified Division Reese Coffee picked up the feature win. �Mark Neal, Jay Noteboom and Coffee all picked up feature wins, with Mark Wenzlaff and Neal bringing the field to the green. Neal jumped to an early lead and looked to run away from the field. Coffee began to challenge Neal for the lead around the halfway point. Neal and Coffee would battle until Coffee was able to move to the point and drive away for the victory. Neal held on for second followed by Noteboom, Bobby Moore, and Jim Matheson finished 5th. �

Next Saturday night Miller Lite presents the NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series. Pit gates open at 4:30, grandstand gates at 5:30, and racing starts at 7. Tickets are $9 for adults and children 6-13 $3.00.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>