Tanager Football Camp a big success

Tanager Football Camp a big success The Tanager Football Camp hosted nearly 60 Vermillion football players last week (June 20-24) at the Vermillion High School athletic practice fields. The players ranged from seventh through 12th grade. The camp was hosted by the Vermillion football coaching staff.

Included on the staff was Gary Culver, camp director and head football coach at Vermillion High School; Roger Heirigs, offensive coordinator at VHS; Jason Huska and Curt Cameron, freshman football coaches at VHS; Lauren Tolsma and Jason Gault, middle school football coaches; and Amy Richardson, head trainer at VHS. The staff has a combined 120 years of coaching experience.

"I am extremely blessed to have such an experienced staff take their time and work the football camp this summer," said Culver. "They were really the key to the success of the camp! Coach Jim McGuire, our defensive coordinator would have also been on hand but was recovering from recent back surgery. This would have also added even more experience to our staff."

The camp instruction included technique in all individual offensive and defensive positions as well as team work and play review on the offensive side of the ball.

"As I stated to the players attending the camp – 90 percent of the camp is the mental aspect of the game and 10 percent is the physical aspect. We cannot make any of these athletes football players in one week. But the point of the camp is to take the things they have learned and work on them the next two months before football practice begins. This is when the mental and physical parts of the game interconnect and become one. This is what football camp is all about!" said Culver.

Attending the camp were Andrew Pier, Donny Stewart, Jackson Freidel, Billy Kjelden, Mike Hanson, Chris Merrigan, Jerrod Freidel, Kyle Brunick, Ryan Gilbertson, Heath Hubert, Paul Hammond, Michael Van Dyke, Brandon Hansen, CJ Haakinson, Tom Mollet, Cody Hays, Joe Miller, Alex Anderson-Kahl, Bobby Dykstra, Ryan Husby, Gregg Anderson, Matt Nelson, Kylen Freidel, Tim Tigert, Chris Cameron, Ben Knutson, Tony Thomas, Tyler Steele, Grant Lueders, Andrew Eidem, Michael Oberle, Tyler Johnson, Blaine Olson, Jason Rasmussen, Cody Merrigan, Philip Munkvold, Luke Heine, Ben Johnson, Travis Jerred, Blaine Hubert, Austin Reich, Will Schaeffer, Garrett Heine, Tony Kronaizl, Reid Meierkort, Tony Henderson, Lance Hubert, Kurt Krammin, Tavish Bartlett, Tom Hagenbuch, Myles Runyon, Andrew Pearson, Mike Szymonski, Crosby King, Gaye Thomas, Tevin Boehrns and Skylar Franken.

"Mr. Hustle" Award winners during the camp were Kurt Krammin, Tyler Johnson, Ben Knutson, Bobby Dykstra, Luke Heine, and Joe Miller. Each player attending camp also received a camp t-shirt. Popsicles refreshments were provided during the breaks.

"The players attending the camp really did a great job – especially with the hot and humid conditions that prevailed during the week. These guys made the camp a huge success and a lot of fun. I think we as coaches had as much fun as the players during the camp. Every coach found some great individual improvement and success in their respective coaching positions," Culver said.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>