Park Jefferson

Park Jefferson
Reese Coffee, Sid Mosher, Andy Hofmeyer, and Rusty Montagne were all crowned track champions Saturday night at Park Jefferson Speedway. While those four were crowned as track champions, Jim Cole and Todd Boulware, Chris Ableson, Jacob Brown, Mosher, and Jay Noteboom picked up feature wins as KOOL 99.5 presented the Season Championships.

In the KPTH Fox 44 Charger division, Rusty Montagne, Paul Menard, and Randy Harlow picked up heat race wins to set the stage for a great feature.�Menard was stuck with a mechanical failure and had to relinquish his pole starting spot to Shane Jones. On the start Travis Fetterman would jump to the point and lead lap 1.�Chris Ableson started 12th, but quickly worked his way to the front, taking the lead on lap 3. At the drop of the checkered, the battle for second was won by John Cain, who was 3 wide with third finishing Nate Mostard and fourth finisher Montagne, with Dan Van Bruggen rounding out the top 5. With his fourth place finish Rusty Montagne was crowned as the 2005 Track Champion over Dan Van Bruggen.

In the OK 1 Stop B-modified feature, Rich Hesse, Justin Van Beek, and Jeff Brunssen all picked up heat race wins with Jacob Brown earning the pole. Brown drove away from the field in the opening laps. However, Brian Konz began to reel in the leader. With two laps remaining, Konz was on the back bumper of Brown. The two would battle over the remaining laps with Brown picking up his first hard earned win of the season. Konz would hold on for second followed by Darin Roepke, Justin Van Beek, and Andy Hofmeyer; and with his fifth place finish Hofmeyer picked up his first track championship.

The B & B Salvage Super Stocks had the closest points battle coming into the racing action on Saturday night. As the green flag fell, Wynia and Mosher would battle over the first few laps with Mosher holding the lead. Eventually Mosher would take the lead and try to drive away. Randy Brands would work his way from his fifth starting position to the back bumper of Mosher as they took the white flag. Mosher would try to hold off Brands, but coming off of turn four, Brands would go to the high side and get past Mosher by about half a car length at the line. After Brands and Mosher it was Wynia, Jason Grant, and Curt Van Beek. By virtue of his second place finish with Wynia third, Sid Mosher was crowned as Park Jeff's 2005 Super Stock track champion.

The final event of the evening was the Y 101.3 Modified feature. Denny Johnson, Mike Hanson, and Bob Moore would pick up heat race wins with Denny Johnson and Brandon Steffe starting on the front row. �Johnson led lap 1 and continued to lead while drivers jockeyed for position behind him. Jay Noteboom would work his way through the field to take the lead at the half way point. Noteboom would then face a challenge from Jimmy Cole over the last five laps. �but Noteboom held on for the victory. Cole would come home second, Hanson third, Moore fourth, and Dirk Kirk in the top five. With his eighth place finish, Reese Coffee wrapped up the track championship in the Y101.3 Modified division over Noteboom; and with his third place finish, Hanson earned the honor of being the track representative in the NASCAR Weekly Series Division 2 standings.

Next Friday and Saturday Park Jefferson Speedway presents the Tri-State Nationals. Racing Friday will feature a full program for all four divisions, then on �Saturday non-winged sprints and 360 Sprints will join the action. �For more information visit

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>