Park Jefferson

Park Jefferson
John Klynsma collected his first Modified win of the season on a night filled with exciting racing action at Park Jefferson Speedway. Klynsma was joined in winners circle by Sid Mosher in the Super Stocks, Andy Hofmeyer in the B Modifieds, and Dan Van Bruggen in the Chargers.

For the 3rd time in 5 weeks the duo of Kenneth Hausman and Paul Wenzlaff found Victory Lane in the 2 person cruisers. Mike & Bill Vogt finished 2nd and Brandon Smit and Richard Headid round out the field of 3 cars.

When feature time came for the KPTH Fox 44 Charger division Dan Van Bruggen and Shane Jones were tabbed to start on the front row. Van Bruggen and David Riley were heat race winners and Van Bruggen was able to continue his winning ways leading all 12 laps in route to the feature win. Nate Moustard charged hard but in the end had to settle for 2nd, John Cain worked his way up from 8th to finish 3rd, Tom Love raced from 10th to finish 4th, and Travis Fetterman rounded out the Top 5.

Following intermission the Ok 1 Stop B Modifieds were given the opportunity to win an additional $200 with a "King of the Hill" battle. After the first couple of rounds Rich Hesse seemed to be the favorite winning 3 different rounds but in the end Andy Hofmeyer was too much as Hofmeyer beat Hesse then Denny Lundquist and Chad DeVries to collect the $200 courtesy of B & B Salvage and Park Jefferson Speedway.

Chad DeVries and Denny Lundquist set the pace for the 15 lap A Main event for the Ok 1 Stop B Modifieds. Andy Hofmeyer and Roger Van Beek collect heat race wins and right away on lap 1 Andy Hofmeyer stormed to the lead. Hofmeyer lead the entire 15 laps but Rich Hesse fought hard to close the gap. Hofmeyer, who lead by as much as a straightaway, had to battle around laps cars and in the end had enough to win his heat, the "King of the Hill" battle, and the 15 lap A Main event. Hesse did finish a strong second, Dave Mulder 3rd, Jacob Brown 4th, and pole sitter Chad DeVries held on for 5th.

Up next on the speedway were the B & B Salvage Super stocks. Glenn Wynia and Curt Van Beek were credited with heat race wins but neither contended for the feature win. Buddy Taylor and Terry Ronk, Jr. made up row #1 and Taylor was able to pilot his #3t machine into the lead for lap 1. Sid Mosher battled side by side with Taylor for lap 2 and took over the race lead. Mosher led until lap 13 when Heath Warntjes got loose off turn 4 and brought out the caution. Mosher had built quite a big lead and was pulling away from everyone but Dave Kuehn. Kuehn was quickly gaining ground on Mosher but on the restart Mosher had too much for Kuehn and went on to win.

Kuehn finished 2nd, Buddy Taylor 3rd, Jason Grant worked his way up from 9th to finish 4th, and David Horsley crossed the line 5th in the #08.

With just the Y 101.3 NASCAR Modifieds left to run 20 laps were put on the scoreboard and to the delight of the crowd those 20 laps would be some of the most exciting ones of the racing season. John Klynsma and Bob Moore won their respective heat races and would go on to battle in the feature for the checkered. Klynsma was the pole sitter for the A Main event and he quickly raced to the point to lead lap 1. Klynsma lead the first 7 laps until caution fell for Ken Fridrich. The yellow flew in lap 8 (Mike Cooper) and lap 10 (Roger Van Beek and Kenny Cakebread) but after that the remaining 10 laps ran caution free. By that time Bob Moore had worked his #48 Coors Light mod to 2nd working past Jeff Berens, Justin Clark, Greg Golden and others to take the runner up spot. In the ensuing laps Moore and Klynsma would battle side by side with Moore leading lap 15 then Klynsma leading again on lap 16. With Klynsma stuck to the middle and Moore sliding around the top each driver refused to give an inch and until Moore bobbled off turn 4 on the white flag lap the race between the two was well in doubt. Klynsma took advantage of the bobble and held off Moore to win for the first time this season. Moore chased Klynsma to the line finishing 2nd, Greg Golden 3rd, Jeff Berens 4th, and Justin Clark rounded out the Top 5.

Next Saturday night KOOL 99.5 presents "Season Championship" night for the NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series Park Jefferson Speedway will crown the track champions for the 2005 season. Pit gates open at 4:30, grandstand gates at 5:30, and racing starts at 7. Tickets are $9 for adults and children 6-13 $3.00. For more information visit

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>