Clay County designated national disaster area

Clay County designated national disaster area
The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated counties in South Dakota as primary natural disaster areas, making all qualified farm operators eligible for low-interest emergency (EM) loans from the USDA's Farm Service Agency (FSA).

In South Dakota, Bon Homme, Clay, Lincoln and Turner counties were designated as primary disaster areas due to drought, high winds, spring frosts, excessive heat, flash flooding, hail and excessive rainfall that have occurred since April 1.

Also eligible because they are contiguous are Charles Mix, Hutchinson, McCook, Minnehaha, Union and Yankton counties.�

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for the loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.�

FSA has a variety of programs available, in addition to the emergency loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA has also made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Emergency Conservation Program, Federal Crop Insurance and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

Additional information is also available online at:

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>