450 to receive degrees at USD’s winter commencement

450 to receive degrees at USD's winter commencement
The University of South Dakota is planning for 450 graduates during their annual commencement ceremony in December.

Two hundred eighty-seven undergraduate and 163 graduate students will receive degrees as part of the 30th annual Winter Commencement on Dec. 17 at 10 a.m. in the DakotaDome on the USD campus in Vermillion.

Commencement speaker is Dr. Kathryn Johnson, member of the South Dakota Board of Regents and owner of Johnson Environmental Concepts of Rapid City. Her commencement address is titled "Active Minds and Strong Shoulders."

Johnson was appointed to the Board of Regents last March by Gov. Rounds. She also currently serves on the 2010 Research & Commercialization Council and the Board of Minerals and Environment for the State of South Dakota.�

Johnson holds a bachelor of science in chemistry from Black Hills State University, a master of science in chemistry from Iowa State University, and a Ph.D. in geology from South Dakota School of Mines and Technology.

She received a federal appointment to the Congressional Commission on the Advancement of Women and Minorities in Science, Engineering and Technology, and is a member of the National Research Council Committee on Women in Science & Engineering.

The December, 2005 candidates for degrees from Vermillion are listed below in alphabetical order: Julie Anne Borg, bachelor of music, music performance; Angela Marie Hansen, master of science, occupational therapy; James D. Johnson, bachelor of science, alcohol and drug abuse studies; Nikki Charlene Johnson, master of arts, communication disorders; Todd William Kennedy, bachelor of science, history; Kirsten Leigh Korte, bachelor of science, history; Dustin Adam Larson, bachelor of science, communication disorders; Jason Gary Madsen, bachelor of science in recreation, recreation; Daniel J. Mart, master of arts, elementary education; Jason Todd Monroe, bachelor of science, history; Landon Patrick Morse, bachelor of science, history; Patrick Richard Ondrozeck, bachelor of music, music performance; Matt Peterson, master of arts, health, physical education and recreation; Charles Seth Phillips, bachelor of science, computer science; Jonathan Henry Schafer, doctor of medicine, medicine; Krista Lynn Scholten, master of fine arts, art; Rachel Joy Solbach, bachelor of science, psychology; Austin Eugene Taylor, bachelor of science in recreation, recreation; Audrey Marie Ticknor, master of arts, educational administration; Lisha Ann VonEhwegen, bachelor of arts, English; Michelle Jean Zimiga, bachelor of science, communication disorders, magna cum laude.

Michael S. Girard of Wakonda will receive a bachelor of science degree in recreation, recreation.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>