Phi Theta Kappa induction held

Phi Theta Kappa induction held
Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), an international honor society for two-year college students, held its induction ceremony at Western Iowa Tech Community College (WITCC) Nov. 17.

Inductees included Janine N. Dooley and Lisa Utech, both of Vermillion.

The event, which was hosted by Beta Zeta Mu (BZM), PTK's Siouxland chapter, was attended by WITCC staff, students and their families and guests.

Guest speaker was Dr. Carolyn Rants, WITCC dean of students. Opening remarks were presented by Sima Dabir, instructor of mathematics at WITCC and PTK advisor.

Also participating in the ceremony were WITCC instructors and PTK advisors Bill Koontz, Dan Wubbena, Amy Hueser, Dr. Barbara-Anne Huculak, Theresa M. Jackson and BZM officers Amy Parker-Myers (president), Dawn Neubaum (vice president of hallmarks), Kristina Murphy (vice president of membership), Danelle Frank (treasurer), Lisa Case (secretary), Dan Holder (public relations coordinator) and Theresa Eilerts (historian).

Each semester, invitation to membership is extended by the chapter to credit students without advanced degrees who have completed at least 12 hours of coursework.

leading to an associate degree at WITCC and who have achieved a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>