Legislators honor deceased peers

Legislators honor deceased peers
Senators and representatives gathered Jan. 19 to pay tribute to former lawmakers.

"We honor today lawmakers who left their heart-prints on South Dakota," said Sen. Kenneth McNenny, R-Sturgis.

Legislators annually hold the memorial service placing a rose in a vase for each lawmaker who died the previous year. In 2005 there were 10.

"I guess it is a sobering thought that you too will be remembered here at Legislative Memorial Service," McKnenny said.

Lawmakers who died in 2005 include: Barney A. Boos, Sioux Falls, House, 1953-1954; Donald C. Carlson, Rapid City, House, 1979-1984; Doris J. Kumm, Watertown, House, 1979-1988; Donald C. Peterson, Yankton, House, 1977-1978, Senate, 1979-1986; Henry A. Poppen, DeSmet, Senate 1967-1992; Eleanor Saukerson, Chamberlain, Senate, 1991-1994; William "Bill" Schroeder, Pierre, House, 1965-1968; Floyd "Bill" F. Snyder Jr., Watertown, House, 1966-1970; Mary P. Vanderlinde, Sioux Falls, House, 1985-1994; and John T. Vucurevich, Rapid City, House, 1947-1950, Senate, 1951-1956.

T.F. Riggs High School All State Choir students sang Amazing Grace and Be Thou My Vision as part of the memorial.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>