Laber breaks Dome record in 500 meters

Laber breaks Dome record in 500 meters
Kassie Laber set a DakotaDome record in the 500 meter run and the South Dakota men's and women's track and field teams combined for 12 titles at the Graphic Edge Division II Challenge on Saturday at the DakotaDome.

Laber, a senior from Parkston, clocked a 1:15.26 to win the 500-meter run and break the record held by teammate Amber Stoltenburg of Elkton, who ran a 1:15.65 in winning the race at last year's North Central Conference meet. Laber also anchored the 4×400-meter relay to a win. Also in the 500-meters, USD's Kiki Smith of Wahpeton, ND, was third in 1:16.56 while Meghan Reifenrath of Rock Rapids, IA, was fourth in 1:16.65.

The women's team had seven titles, while the men's team had five first-place finishes. The meet included teams from Nebraska-Omaha, Nebraska-Kearney, North Dakota, Wayne State, Mary, Chadron State, Augustana and Northern State.

Stephanie Gebhart, a junior from Elkton, continued her dominance in the 400-meters by cruising to a win with a time of 57.09. USD freshman Allie Smith of Wahpeton, ND, was fourth in 1:00.02.

Aimee Nielsen, a senior from Mason City, IA, had an outstanding performance with a title in the 1,000-meter run in 3:01.52. She also finished second in the mile run, clocking a 5:06.95. Freshman Allie Duba of Sioux Falls, was third in the 1,000 meter run in 3:03.20 while senior Kaylee Keating of Sioux Falls, was third in the mile in 5:10.46.

The South Dakota women also picked up wins in the 4×400-meter relay (3:55.98) and the distance medley (12:25.38). USD's 4×400-meter relay squad included Heidi Muellenberg of Redfield, Reifenrath, Stoltenburg and Laber. The distance medley squad included Amy Duba of Sioux Falls, Allie Smith, Betsy Blackler of Rapid City, and Lexi Dunlop of Woodbine, IA.

In the field events, Tanya Salter, a senior from Fargo, ND, won the high jump in 5'06.50. Freshman Natalie Stout of Crofton, NE, won the triple jump, going 38'02.75.

Mara McGill of Beresford, was second (8.92) and Kiki Smith, third (8.96), in the 60-meter hurdles.

Muellenberg also finished second in the 200-meter dash in 25.43 while picking up a third-place finish in the 60-meters in 7.81.

Chad Erling, a senior from Bellevue, NE, led the men's team by capturing the 500-meter dash in 1:07.63. Scott Hargens, a sophomore from Sioux Falls, won the 800-meter run in 1:56.33. USD's Josh Jeffery of Sturgis, was second in 1:56.48.

Sophomore Terry Liggins of Omaha, NE, picked up a win in the 60-meter hurdles by clocking a 8.14.

Senior Sam Pribyl of Webster, won the pole vault by going 16'04.25. Nick Hagemann, a senior from New Vienna, IA, won the weight throw with a toss of 58'11.25, which is the best toss by a Coyote this indoor season. Dan Tolsma, a senior from Vermillion, was second at 56'03.75.

In the 60-meter dash, junior Stefan Logan of Miami, FL, finished second in 6.93. David Coley, a junior from Bellevue, NE, was second in the 200-meter dash in 22.41. Ben Oberle, a freshman from Vermillion, was second in the 400-meter dash (51.68). In addition, Matt DeWald, a senior from Yankton, was second in the mile run in 4:30.71. Nate Seier, a senior from Dubuque, IA, took second in the 1000-meter run by clocking a 2:36.56. Tony Turgeon of Sioux Falls, was second in the 3,000-meter run in 8:53.50.

The USD men's team also took second-place in both the distance medley (10:33.60) and the 4×400-meter relay (3:24.49). The Coyotes' Colte Haines of White Lake, was second in the long jump in 22'07 and second in the triple jump at 46'07.25. Freshman Jayme Liddell of Aberdeen, was second in the high jump at 6'05.

The South Dakota men's team will next compete at the Wildcat Invitational at Wayne, NE, on Feb. 11. The women's team will participate in the Holiday Inn Invitational in Boise, ID, also on Feb. 11.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>