Olson awarded $1,000 Wells Fargo scholarship

Olson awarded $1,000 Wells Fargo scholarship
Wells Fargo has announced that Michelle Olson of Vermillion High School has been awarded a $1,000 college scholarship for the 2006-07 school year as part of Wells Fargo's annual Community Scholarship Program.

Olson was one of 70 high school seniors in the region to receive the scholarship this year.

"At Wells Fargo, we recognize the importance of supporting great students in our community as they pursue a college education in their home state," said Gary Dybsetter, Community Banking president for Vermillion. "Through the Wells Fargo Community Scholarship program, we have the opportunity to help talented young people pursue their dreams and attain the skills, knowledge and experience to prepare them for their future careers."

Olson joined other Wells Fargo Community Scholarship winners in TV announcements celebrating their achievements. The ads were aired during the S.D. State Basketball Tournaments in March.

The scholarship program was created to encourage exceptional students to pursue undergraduate degrees in their home state. Over the last 15 years, Wells Fargo has awarded more than $1.4 million in financial assistance to 1,410 high school students across the region.

Wells Fargo has 89 stores in North Dakota, South Dakota and western Minnesota and employs more than 4,400 team members throughout the region. Wells Fargo & Company is a diversified financial services company with $482 billion in assets, providing banking, insurance, investments, mortgage and consumer finance to more than 23 million customers from more than 6,200 stores and the internet (wellsfargo.com) across North America and elsewhere internationally.

Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. is the only bank in the United States to receive the highest possible credit rating, "Aaa," from Moody's Investors Service.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>