Brown, Dykstra qualify for state track meet

Brown, Dykstra qualify for state track meet
Last Saturday, April 1, a contingent of eight girls' teams and nine boys' teams from a three-state area participated in the Dakota Valley Track Invitational at the McCook Lake sports facility in North Sioux City.

Vermillion High School was represented by a complete roster in both the girls' and boys' divisions.

Alicia Brown qualified for state with a time of 26.3 seconds in the 200M dash.

Other individual Tanager placers were:

Krista Froke � second in the high jump. Nicole Orr won both the 100M hurdles (16.4) and 300M hurdles (40.5); Froke placed third in the 300 hurdles.

In the 100M dash, Sarah Day and Anna Moos placed fourth and sixth respectively. Emily Renner was second in the 1600M run.

Several Tanager girls' relay teams placed in the meet:

The 4x400M relay team was first and met the state qualifying time of 4:11.9 (Nicole Orr, Alexa Walker, Annie Roche, and Alicia Brown). Second place was claimed by the medley relay team (Annie Roche, Brittney Babb, Sarah Day, and Emily Renner).

There were two Tanager foursomes entered in the 4×100 � Kinsey Weydert, Hannah Korcuska, Alexa Walker, and Sarah Day, fifth place; and Nickie White Lightning, Anna Moos, Jacey Wipf, and Karissa Martin, sixth.

Orr, Babb, Roche, and Brown won the 4×200 with a time of 1:50.5 minutes, while the team of White Lightning, Korcuska, Walker, and Froke came in fourth.

The Tanager girls accumulated 96 points for their second place finish.

Sioux City West and Parker were first and second with 122 and 88 points respectively, while the Tanagers finished seventh with 37 in the boys' division.

Placing in the field events for the Tanagers were Tom Mollet � fourth in the shot put; Andrew Oier � fourth in the long jump; and Bobby Dykstra � first in the high jump with a state qualifying height of 6'2"; Broc Gauer placed fifth in the high jump.

Running events had Mike Oberle and Brad Orr finishing fifth and sixth in the 300m hurdles.

The 4×100 relay team of Andrew Pier, Jeff Donnelly, Jerrod Freidel, and Gregg Anderson was fourth, and the medley relay team won with a time 3:56.4 (Pier, Donnelly, Ryan Powell, and Gauer).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>