Girls’ relay teams dominate field at Huskies Invite

Girls' relay teams dominate field at Huskies Invite
On Tuesday, April 4, the Tanager girls' track relay teams dominated the 12 teams in the Huskies Invitational at the Elk Point Sports Complex.

The Tanagers garnered first place in the medley, 4x200M relay and 4x400M relay, and a third place in the 4x100M. Members of the medley team are Annie Roche, Alexa Walker, Sarah Day and Emily Renner; 4x100M members are Kinsey Weydert, Hannah Korcuska, Walker, and Day. Members of the 800M relay team are Nicole Orr, Annie Roche, Brittney Babb and Alisha Brown. The runners on the champion 1600M relay are Babb, Roche, Day and Walker.

Alisha Brown also scored points in three events � besides the listed relay team, she set a state qualifying 12.36 time in the 100M dash and state qualifier with 58.33 seconds in winning the 400M dash.

In the hurdles, Nicole Orr won both races (100M and 300M). Her time of 48.19 qualified her for state in the 300M; Krista Froke placed second in the 300M hurdles. In the long distance runs, Emily Renner was second in the 1600M, and Emily Renner placed third in the 3200M. Krista Froke placed third in the high jump.

The Vermillion girls' team totaled 96 points for second place behind South Sioux City and over 10 schools from a three-state area.

The Tanager boys' team didn't fare as well in the competition, placing seventh among 12 teams from South Dakota, Nebraska, and Iowa.

Field event placers for Vermillion were: Thom Mollet � sixth in shot put; Bobby Dykstra and Andrew Pier � fourth and sixth, respectively, in the long jump; and Dykstra � second in high jump. Mike Oberle placed sixth in the 300M hurdles.

Casey Carlson finished fifth in both the 800M and 1600M runs, while J.R. Moore came in third in the 3200M.

Relay team results were: 4×100 � fourth, Paul Hammond, Oberle, Brad Orr, and Gregg Anderson; 4x200M � third, Pier, Jerrod Freidel, Ryan Powell, and Jeff Donnelly; 4x400M � fifth, Oberle, Broc Gauer, Donnelly, and Powell; medley relay � fourth, Pier, Freidel, Powell, and Gauer.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>