André Larson selected for S.D. Hall of Fame

André Larson selected for S.D. Hall of Fame
André Larson, Vermillion, is among the 15 individuals recently selected as the 2006 inductees in the South Dakota Hall of Fame. The professor of music at The University of South Dakota is director of National Music Museum.

The South Dakota Hall of Fame, located in Chamberlain, recognizes and honors pioneers and outstanding leaders who have contributed to the development and heritage of South Dakota. This year's inductees were chosen from a list of 72 total nominees in a variety of categories.

"This year's list of inductees represents a very wide and qualified group of applicants," says Brendan Casey, chairperson of the South Dakota Hall of Fame Board of Directors and owner of Epic Media in Rapid City. "These people are very qualified and deserving of the honor."

Larson, a native of Brookings, was hired in 1972 as the first director of The Shrine to Music Museum, later named the National Music Museum. He focused on the development of the museum's collection, which now includes many of the earliest, best-preserved and historically most important instruments known to survive. The museum has brought national and world attention to South Dakota. It was recently featured by Garrison Keillor on the Prairie Home Companion radio program broadcast nationally on Public Broadcasting.

Larson has organized and brought to South Dakota international meetings of various musical instrumental societies and was the 1990 recipient of the Curt Sachs Award, the highest honor his peers can bestow. Larson creates, produces and successfully markets as many as 45 musical events a year, ranging from brown bag lunch programs to concerts that feature internationally known musicians.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>