ESA holds state convention

ESA holds state convention
The South Dakota State Council of Epsilon Sigma Alpha held their 56th annual Convention May 5-7 at the Ramkota Inn, Sioux Falls.

The theme of the convention was "ESA ��Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow. It's Always ?Time' for ESA."

The convention was hosted by Alpha Sigma, Sioux Falls, and the Quills (Past State Presidents).

Nine members of Alpha Lambda chapter attended the convention.

The state president, Marsha Risseeuw, Winner, presided at the business meetings. Susan Winters, International Council representative, Kansas, was the honored guest.

Luann Ouellette opened the convention with the flag ceremony and parade of banners.

Following the morning session, an awards luncheon was held.

Service awards were presented to Dorothy Wright, Eleanor Offerdahl and Audry Gillen from Alpha Lambda chapter. First Pearl and Palles Athena were awarded at this time.

The youth and Diana presentations were made by Brenda O'Hara of Dell Rapids.

The state project, Ronald McDonald House, was announced by Maryln Harnois, state chairman. The ESA has donated over $1,400 to the Ronald McDonald House in Sioux Falls.

South Dakota Circle of Life has given $37,737.43 through radio-thons, bike rides, walks and various other fund raisers.

Other awards were Easter Seals, disaster fund, philanthropic and education. Chapter of the Year was awarded to Alpha Lambda, Vermillion.

Maryln Harnois was named Member of the Year by her chapter.

Kay Berg, Winner, was installed as the 2006-07 state president at the Saturday evening banquet. Her theme for the year is "Glitter Your World with ESA."

The convention concluded with a memorial service and breakfast on Sunday morning.

The 2007 convention will be held May 4, 5 and 6 in Winner with Alpha Zeta as hostesses.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>