Over 1,000 candidates to receive degrees during USD spring commencement

Over 1,000 candidates to receive degrees during USD spring commencement
Over 1,000 students are expected to receive their degrees during commencement ceremonies at The University of South Dakota in May.

The students will celebrate with the spring commencement on May 13 at 9:30 a.m. in the DakotaDome. Internationally recognized humanitarian Greg Mortenson will deliver the keynote address.

Mortenson is the founder and executive director of the nonprofit Central Asia Institute, an organization dedicated to promoting education to underprivileged children.

Mortenson grew up on the slopes of Mt. Kilimanjaro, Tanzania, and later served as a medic in the U.S. Army during the Cold War, where he received the Army Commendation Medal.

Mortenson graduated from The University of South Dakota in 1983 with a bachelor's of liberal studies and an associate's degree in nursing. He is one of only a few Americans who have worked in Afghanistan, a region now considered the front line of the war on terror.

The candidates for degrees from the Clay County area are:

Vermillion � Amanda Leah Anderson, Associate of Science, Nursing; Amanda Elizabeth Anne Breske, Bachelor of Science, Criminal Justice; Nichol Lynn Brown, Associate of Science, Nursing; Sarah Ellen Fletcher, Associate of Science, Nursing; Catherine Ann Flum, Master of Arts, Counseling & Psychology in Education; Audrey Jo Foltz, Bachelor of Science in Education, Elementary Education; Tabitha Ann Hubert, Master of Professional Accountancy, Professional Accountancy; Tabitha Ann Hubert, Bachelor of Business Administration, Accounting; Chelsea Joy Jorgensen, Bachelor of Arts, English; Michele Roberts Larson, Master of Science, Administrative Studies; William Harvey Larson, Jr., Juris Doctor, Law; Kayla Lea Loecker, Bachelor of Science in Education, Elementary Education; Melissa Marie Lucas, Bachelor of Science, Psychology; Charles Park, Jr., Juris Doctor, Law; Charles Park, Jr., Master of Public Administration, Public Administration; Sarah Lynne Peabody, Bachelor of Arts, English, Summa Cum Laude; Julia Ann Potter, Master of Science, Technology for Education & Training; Steven Francis Powell, Doctor of Medicine, Medicine; John Thomas Richter, Juris Doctor, Law; Daniel James Tolsma, Bachelor of Science in Recreation, Recreation, Cum Laude; Alexis Ann Tracy, Juris Doctor, Law; Katharine Elizabeth Van Patten, Doctor of Medicine, Medicine; LuAnne Ellen Walker, Associate of Science, Nursing, With Highest Honor; Aimee Rose Wurzberger Miron, Associate of Science, Nursing

Wakonda � Michael Flaherty, Bachelor of Science, Psychology, Cum Laude.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>