Primary, local elections are on Tuesday, June 6

Primary, local elections are on Tuesday, June 6
This time of year, one usually finds political yards signs as prevalent in people's front lawns as dandelions.

This spring is different however. Primary and local city elections are scheduled in approximately two weeks, but there has been virtually no campaign activity in Vermillion � yet.

Some local voters will go to the polls � depending on their party affiliation � to decide races for governor, state legislator, Clay County Commission, mayor and Vermillion City Council.

Democrats will be asked to choose between Jack Billion and Dennis J. Wiese. District 17 Republicans will be asked to choose two of three G.O.P. candidates. Nathan Adams, Vermillion, is challenging incumbents Donna Schafer, Vermillion, and Jamie Boomgarden, Chancellor.

Democrats will be also be asked to make two choices among a field of four candidates running for county commission: Leslie Kephart, Fred Balleweg, Alex Ufford, all of Vermillion, and Robert Kyte, Burbank.

Vermillion city voters must choose among three candidates seeking election to a four year term as mayor: incumbent Dan Christopherson is being challenged by Brian Fagnan and James A. Johnson.

Voters in the Southeast Ward also must go to the polls. Incumbent Ray Hofman and former District 17 legislator Judy Clark are vying for election to a four year term on the city council.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>