Tanager baseball team ends season with loss

Tanager baseball team ends season with loss
The Southern Dakota Baseball League paired the Tanagers with the Beresford Watchdogs in the first round of Region 3B play at Beresford on Sunday, May 14.

The VHS season ended with a tragic 14-12 loss in a tightly contested game played in varying rainy conditions of weather.

John Gregg started and went three innings, giving up seven runs (five earned) on five hits plus two walks, and two Ks, as the team committed an error.

He was relieved by Zach Weiss who went 1/3 of an inning, allowing five runs on four hits and two BBs, during which the team committed three more errors.

Reid Meirkort then went one and 2/3 innings where he was charged with two (one unearned) runs on one hit, as the team committed another error.

Jeff Donnelly pitched the final scoreless inning.

During Gregg's three-inning stint, the Tanager team scored seven runs so that phase of the match was a wash. The Watchdogs took advantage of the misplays by the visitors as they built a seven-run advantage before the Tanagers could respond.

A five-run, top-of-the-seventh was not enough and the result was the 14-12 win for the Bersford nine.

Line scores: Beresford � 14 runs, 10 hits, 0 errors, 6 lob; Vermillion � 12 runs, 12 hits, 5 errors, 5 lob.

Weiss was charged with the loss,and Beresford's Jed Bork claimed the win.

The Tanager stats included: Jeff Donnelly � 2 for 4, 3 runs, 1 rbi; Reid Meierkort drove in 6 runs on 3 for 5 batting, with a run scored; Ryan Gilbertson � 1 for 3, 1 run; Kyle Brunick � 1 for 5, 1 rbi; Eric McPherson � 1 for 5, 1 run, 1 rbi; Bobby Dykstra � 1 for 3, 2 runs; C.J. Haakinson � 1 for 3, 2 runs; Zach Weiss � 3 for 3, 2 runs scored. The varsity season record ended at 2-8.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>