Dakota Showcase draws teams from seven states

Dakota Showcase draws teams from seven states
The sixth annual Mr. Basketball & Miss Basketball Dakota Showcase prep tournament is set for June 29-July 1, in Sioux Falls.

The tournament will feature 16 boys' and 16 girls' club teams from seven states. South Dakota will be represented by five boys; teams, Dakota Schoolers I and II, South Dakota Storm, South Dakota Heat and the ECI Select South squad.

On the girls' side, South Dakota teams include the South Dakota Riders, South Dakota Elite and Northern Lites.

The South Dakota Riders (Roosevelt) will play Minnesota Triple Threat at 8:40 p.m. Thursday, June 29. The Minnesota squad has at least six Division I prospects..

Opening night exposes fans to the top teams in the event. The last two years, Roosevelt has faced Earneisha Williams (Texas), Danielle Gant (Texas A&M), Danielle Zanotti (Kansas State), Ashley Sweat (Kansas State) and Brette Ulsaker (Utah) on opening night. This year they will see several high caliber players on the Triple Threat team.

On the boys' side, the Dakota Schoolers I will begin the defense of their 2005 championship Thursday evening with a 7:30 contest against the Minnesota Magic Gold.

The event begins with pool play on Thursday and Friday, June 29-30. Teams are then seeded in single elimination brackets for Saturday, July 1. Games start at 9 a.m. each day and run until 11 p.m. on June 29-30. The championship games are Saturday evening at 7:30 p.m.

All games are played at the Elmen Center on two courts, with plenty of seating available for specators. Nearly 100 NCAA Division II, III, NAIA and junior college coaches are expected to scout the event. Division I coaches are not allowed to attend summer events until July 5. Complete game schedules are available on www.misterbasketball.com.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>