Tanager Football Camp is a big success

Tanager Football Camp is a big success
The Tanager Football Camp played host to nearly 60 Vermillion football players last week (June 19-23) at the Vermillion High School practice fields. The players ranged from seventh grade through 12th grade.

The camp was hosted by the Vermillion football coaching staff. Included on the staff was Gary Culver, camp director and head football coach at Vermillion High School; Roger Heirigs, offensive coordinator at VHS; Jim McGuire, defensive coordinator at VHS; Jason Huska and Jason Gault, freshman football coaches at VHS; Lauren Tolsma and Kyle Seibel, middle school football coaches; Ben Oberle, VHS graduate and current USD football player; and Amy Richardson, head trainer at VHS.

The staff has a combined 150 years of coaching experience.

"I am extremely blessed to have such an experienced staff take their time and work the football camp this summer," Culver said. "They were really the key to the success of the camp."

The camp instruction included technique in all individual offensive and defensive positions as well as punting, place kicking, and punt/kick returning techniques.

"As I stated to the players attending the camp � 90 percent of this camp is the mental aspect of the game and 10 percent is the physical aspect.

"We cannot make any of these athletes football players in one week," he added. "But the point of the camp is to take the things they have learned and work on them the next two months before football practice begins. This is when the mental and physical parts of the game interconnect and become one. This is what football camp is all about."

Attending the camp were: Alex Anderson-Kahl, Nick Anglin, Brycen Anglin, Mike Brunick, Chris Cameron, Cody Carr, Taylor Clark, Dorian Colvin, Bobby Dykstra, Kyle Finnegan, D'Andre Fore, Jackson Freidel, Jarrod Freidel, Kylen Freidel, Nathan Garrett, CJ Haakinson, Paul Hammond, Evan Hanson, Harrison Hawley, Tony Henderson, Lance Hubert, Blaine Hubert, Heath Hubert, Clint Hubert, Ryan Husby, Travis Jerred, Tyler Johnson, Bennett Johnson, Crosby King, Billy Kjelden, Andrew Kost, Ryan Kost, Grant Lueders, Alex Manning, Andrew McCann, Reid Meierkort, Tom Mollet, JR Moore, Joey Mueller, Matt Nelson, Mike Oberle, Blaine Olsen, Tyler Osborne, Andrew Pearson, Kyle Pickett, Jason Rasmussen, Austin Reich, Jordan Robinson, Marcus Sand, Tyler Steele, Tony Thomas, Gage Thomas, Mike Van Dyke, Riley Vlasman, and Shane Whitman.

"Mr Hustle" Award winners during the camp are JR Moore, CJ Haakinson, Andrew McCann, Mike Oberle, Harrison Hawley, Reid Meierkort, Tony Thomas, and Bennett Johnson. Each player attending camp also received a camp t-shirt. Popsicles and refreshments were provided during the breaks.

"The players attending the camp really did a great job � and Mother Nature was very kind to us as perfect conditions prevailed all during the week," Culver said. "These guys made the camp a huge success and a lot of fun. I think we, as coaches, had as much fun as the players during the camp. Every coach found some great individual improvement and success in their respective coaching positions."

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>