Lions install new officers July 20

Lions install new officers July 20

The annual Vermillion Lions' picnic was held at the Eagles Club on July 20 and the excellent dinner and evening festivities were enjoyed by all. Lion Art Rusch was in charge of installation ceremony for the new Lions' Club officers and board members – President Allen Johnson; first Vice President Ron Thaden; second Vice President Maxine Johnson; third Vice President David Stockland; Treasurer Barbara Campbell; Secretary Randy Sullivan; Board Directors Darlis LaBahn, Richard McBride, Tom Stogsdill, Lindy Wipf; Tail Twister, Tom Thaden; Co-Lion Tamers Marion Kryger and Dick Stensaas; and Membership Committee Chair Jacquie Lonning. President Gloria Christopherson presented items of appreciation to a number of club members and a Proud Lions Award to Lion Wipf.

President Chrisopherson announced that the pre Tour de Kota event held on June 11 at the Senior Citizens Center was a successful fund-raising event for the center and she thanked the many Lions and senior citizens who worked so diligently preparing the pancakes and sausages. Lion Maxine Johnson introduced her guest Berwyn Svoboda, Burbank, and noted that he is especially looking forward to helping with future pancake events. Lion Ron Thaden introduced his guest Bob Scott, Vermillion.

The evening concluded wiht a short board of directors meeting. One item of special interest on the agenda was the pancake and sausage Biker Breakfast to be held at the I-29 Rest Area from 7 a.m. to noon on Aug. 3-7. It was emphasized that several volunteers from both Lions Club and the museum will be required for this endeavor.

Many of the arrangements for this "We Serve" event are being carried out by Lions Sid Davis, Marion Kryger and Ron Thaden, with Lion Wipf, Pressing Matters, designing and donating the posters.







Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>