CBS newsman Bob Schieffer will receive Neuharth Award at USD on Oct. 5

CBS newsman Bob Schieffer will receive Neuharth Award at USD on Oct. 5
Bob Schieffer, anchor of The CBS Evening News for the past year and a half and host of Face the Nation, will receive the 2006 Al Neuharth Award for Excellence in the Media at The University of South Dakota on Thursday evening, Oct. 5.

Schieffer will be the 19th person honored by the university and the Freedom Forum since 1989. The annual award for lifetime achievement is named for USA TODAY and Freedom Forum founder Al Neuharth, a South Dakota native and 1950 graduate of USD.

The event, which is free to the public, will begin at 7 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 5, in the Wayne S. Knutson Theatre at USD's Warren M. Lee Center for the Fine Arts. Doors will open at 6:15 p.m., general seating. Colton Recital Hall, equipped with a large video screen, will be available for overflow.

Schieffer's remarks will be telecast live from 7 to 8:30 p.m. on South Dakota Public Broadcasting (SDPB). After Schieffer's remarks, he will take questions from the audience (time permitting).

"Bob Schieffer's lifelong, unwavering commitment to fairness, objectivity and decency sets a lofty standard," said Al Neuharth. "The public's deep mistrust of the news media would fade if all journalists followed his example."

Schieffer anchored the CBS Evening News from March 10, 2005, until the end of last month. Katie Couric assumed the anchor desk Sept. 5. Schieffer has covered Washington for CBS News for more than 30 years and has served as the moderator of Face the Nation, CBS News' Sunday public affairs broadcast, since 1991. He is also CBS News' chief Washington correspondent.

Schieffer is one of the few broadcast or print journalists to have covered all four major beats in the nation's capital – the White House, the Pentagon, the State Department and Capitol Hill. He has been chief Washington correspondent since 1982 and congressional correspondent since 1989 and has covered every presidential campaign. He has been a floor reporter at all of the Democratic and Republican National Conventions since 1972.

Prior to joining CBS News in 1969, Schieffer was a reporter at the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and, in 1965, became the first reporter from a Texas newspaper to report from Vietnam. Schieffer later became news anchor at WBAP-TV Dallas/Fort Worth, a post that eventually led to his joining CBS News.

Schieffer is the author of three books: Face the Nation, which was published on the 50th anniversary of the program; the 2003 New York Times best-seller, This Just In, What I Couldn't Tell You on TV; and the best-selling Acting President, published in 1989.

Schieffer is a member of the Broadcasting/Cable Hall of Fame and is the recipient of the 2003 Paul White Award presented by the Radio-Television News Directors Association. The award recognizes an individual's lifetime contribution to electronic journalism. Schieffer also has won six Emmys and two Sigma Delta Chi Awards. In 2002, the National Press Foundation chose Schieffer as Broadcaster of the Year.

Past recipients of the Al Neuharth Award for Excellence in the Media include: CBS News anchor Walter Cronkite (1989); columnist and author Carl T. Rowan (1990); Helen Thomas of United Press International (1991); Tom Brokaw of NBC News (1992); Larry King of CNN (1993); Charles Kuralt of CBS News (1994); Albert R. Hunt of The Wall Street Journal and Judy Woodruff of CNN (1995); Robert MacNeil of MacNeil/Lehrer Productions (1996); Cokie Roberts of ABC News (1997); Tim Russert of NBC News and Louis D. Boccardi, president and chief executive officer of The Associated Press (1998); John Seigenthaler, founder of the First Amendment Center at Vanderbilt University and award-winning journalist for The Tennessean (1999); Al Neuharth (2000); Jim Lehrer, executive editor and anchor of The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer on PBS (2001); Tom Curley, president and publisher of USA TODAY (2002); Don Hewitt, 60 Minutes creator and CBS News executive producer (2004); and radio host and writer Garrison Keillor (2005).

For more information about the Al Neuharth Award for Excellence in the Media, contact Jack Marsh, executive director of the Al Neuharth Media Center, 605-677-6315 or jmarsh@free

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>