American Cancer Society recognizes South Dakotans in fight against cancer

American Cancer Society recognizes South Dakotans in fight against cancer
The American Cancer Society recently recognized leaders from across the state for outstanding contributions in the fight against cancer.

Mary Mock of Vermillion was honored with an Outstanding Advocate Award, which recognizes volunteers who have made a significant contribution to reducing cancer in South Dakota through public policy change. Mock served as an American Cancer Society Celebration on the Hill ambassador to Washington, DC earlier this year, and lobbied the South Dakota federal delegation to pledge support for cancer issues.

"The American Cancer Society is proud to recognize this community leader," said Gretchen Tegeler, South Dakota state vice-president for the American Cancer Society. "She has a passion, a commitment to making our state cancer-free. She has demonstrated remarkable leadership in the fight against cancer."

The awards were presented at the American Cancer Society's first volunteer recognition event in Rapid City on Nov. 3.

Over 4,000 South Dakotans will be diagnosed with cancer this year, and more than 1,600 residents will die from the disease.

The American Cancer Society funds cancer research, education and awareness programs and services for cancer patients and their families.

The American Cancer Society is dedicated to eliminating cancer as a major health problem by preventing cancer, saving lives, and diminishing suffering from cancer through research, education, advocacy and service. Founded in 1913 and with national headquarters in Atlanta, the society has 13 regional divisions and local offices in 3,400 communities, involving millions of volunteers across the United States. For more information anytime, call toll free: 1-800-ACS-2345 or visit

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>