Clay County 4-H recognition event held

Clay County 4-H recognition event held
4-H friends, members and leaders were recognized at the annual Clay County 4-H Recognition Event on Sunday, Nov. 19 at the 4-H Center in Vermillion.

The Clay County 4-H Leaders Association recognized six individuals and two businesses for their support and cooperation to the Clay County 4-H Program. Receiving Friends of 4-H awards were Milton and Virginia Johnson, Tim and Twila Woehl, Dan Heine, Dr. Jennifer Knutson, Sammelson Bros. Excavating Inc. and Alcoa Inc. The Meritorious Service Award was presented to Sharron Jensen.

4-H Alumni Awards were awarded to Connie Jensen, Evan Peterson, David Fallan and Al Miiller.

Leader Awards were presented to first year leaders Carol Sorensen, Karla Nussbaum, Kim Nelson, Margaret Williams, Carol Jorgensen, Rick Nothdurft, Bob Munsil and Allie Munsil.

Six 4-H members were recognized as graduating members. They were JoAnna Strom, Member at Large; Kent Stockland, Young Producers; Molly Hansen, Clay County Cubs; Krystal Clark, Clay County Go Getters; Shelli Knutson, Coyote Cubs and Kyle Hubert, Coyote Cubs.

4-H Sweepstakes Awards, sponsored by the Clay County Youth Trust Fund and the Clay County 4-H Leaders Association, were presented to the following members: Personal Development – Beginner Ashley Sorensen, Junior Ellen Hanson, Senior Emily Holoch; Home Economics – Beginner Ashley Sorensen, Junior Ellen Hanson, Senior Emily Holoch; Agriculture – Beginner Taylor Lyso, Junior Chad Peterson and Senior Patrick Morrison.

Horse Sweepstakes, sponsored by the Vermillion Saddle Club, was presented to Junior Dana Nelson.

The Outstanding Horse Award, in memory of Joe Millette and sponsored by Margaret Williams and Frank Schieber, was awarded to Dana Nelson.

The Helping Hands Award, sponsored by the Marshall Lundquist and Cliff Miller Memorial Funds, was presented to Emily Holoch and Andy Peterson.

The Overall Home Economics award was presented to Ashley Ouellette.

The following 4-H members received High Point Beginner, Junior and Senior judging school participation awards: Beginner FCS – Ashley Sorensen; Junior FCS – Ellen Hanson; Senior FCS – Andy Jensen; Beginner Visual Arts – Ashley Sorensen; Junior Visual Arts – Taylor Geu; Senior Visual Arts – Emily Holoch; Beginner Livestock Taylor Christensen; Junior Livestock – Dean Christensen; Senior Livestock – Luke Heine; Beginner Photography – Marley Hanson; Junior Photography – Taylor Geu; Senior Photography – Emily Holoch; Beginner Horticulture – Erika Fallan; Junior Horticulture – Ellen Hanson and Senior Horticulture – Andy Jensen.

Youth-in-Action awards for individual participation in County Contests were awarded to Marley Hanson, Beginner Fashion Revue; Ellen Hanson, Junior Fashion Revue; Ashley Ouellette, Senior Fashion Revue; Jana Bye, Junior Demonstration; Patrick Morrison, Senior Demonstration; Emily Holoch, Senior Public Speaking; Erika Fallan and Taylor Lyso, Beginner Special Foods; Chad Peterson, Junior Special Foods; Taylor Geu, Junior Illustrated Talk and Patrick Morrison, Senior Illustrated Talk. These awards were sponsored by My Quilt Shop, JoAnn's Fabric and the Clay County 4-H Leaders Association.

Four individuals and three judging teams placed in the Top Ten at the 2006 SD State Fair Judging Contests. Team awards were sponsored by Choice Pharmacy, Hy-Vee and the Young Producers 4-H Club. Top Ten individuals were Ashley Sorensen, Beginner Visual Arts; Seth Heine, Junior Livestock; and Patrick Morrison and Andy Jensen, Senior Horticulture. The Top Ten team members participating were: Junior Livestock – Seth Heine, Chelsey Cahoon, Dean Christensen and Kelsy Fallan; Beginner Visual Arts – Ashley Sorensen, Marley Hanson, Erika Fallan; Senior Horticulture – Andy Jensen and Patrick Morrison.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>