CASPPA organization receives national award

CASPPA organization receives national award
The National Association of Addiction Professionals (NAADAC) recognized The University of South Dakota's Coalition of Addiction Students and Professionals Pursuing Advocacy (CASPPA) at the 2007 Advocacy in Action Day in Washington, DC, on March 5. The NAADAC presented USD's chapter of CASPPA with the Emerging Leader of the Year 2007 award at the Legislator Dinner.

Greg Bennett, adjunct faculty in the department of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Studies (ADAS) and co-founder, and Diane Sevening, Ed.D., assistant professor in the department of ADAS and faculty advisor, accepted the award on behalf of CASPPA.

"It was such an exciting time and honor to receive this award. I planted the seed and the students made it happen," said Sevening.

CASPPA has been recognized nationally as a student organization at USD that can make a difference for young leadership in the addiction profession through their passion and commitment. By allowing for students' voices to be heard, they can make positive changes for their future career endeavors.

"What an honor. I wish a few more could have been there to help receive the award. We knew that if we wanted change we would need to speak for the people who believe they do not have a voice," said Bennett.

CASPPA is a student organization that was started at USD in the fall of 2005. CASPPA's mission is to raise awareness among the university community about the Alcohol and Drug Studies program, to participate in legislative advocacy pertaining to the addiction profession on a state and national level, and to educate and unite all professionals about the importance of substance abuse treatment and prevention legislation.

To learn more about CASPPA, please go to the Web site at

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>